We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing stay! Clean and friendly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #101 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing stay! Clean and friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place by far exceeded our expectations. We stayed for 3 nights and had a private twin both nights with a shared bathroom. First off, every person that we spoke with on the staff was super friendly and helpful..they were all just great. The rooms were also very large and had a great design (drums as lights on the ceiling), vanity with lights to get ready and each room had a sink in it which was also very continent. The beds were comfortable as well. The hostel is in one of the best locations possible..you are by tons of restaurants and places to hang out / drink. You can easily walk to anywhere from the hotel so it's super convenient. I could not recommend a better experience. It was by far the best hostel I have stayed in over 8 weeks through Europe and South America!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    192
    48
    10
    9
See reviews for
45
103
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I really enjoyed and loved this hotel during my vacation.Stuff is very helpful for every little thing!If you wanted to stay near city center, this hotel is best!It's near tram and bus stop either -if you rent a bike- it's very close to bikeparks.You just lock your bicycle and walk about 1 minute then you're in BackStage!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yi6i7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, Essex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just got back from Amsterdam following a two night stay at the backstage hotel. Location wise the hotel was really easy to get to from the airport. Bus number 197 from the airport takes you direct to Liedsplein in 30 minutes and 4 euros and then the hotel is only a short walk away.

We arrived at the hotel quite early, around 11am, and the girl on reception was very friendly and made our day when she said we could check in early as the room was all ready to go. This made a great start to our trip. We then went out exploring into Leidsplein, where there was a Starbucks, McDonalds and many restaurants and bars to choose from. It was a great location and we didn't need to walk far for most of the sites like the i amsterdam sign.

On the second day we reaslied our room door wasn't locking and we were able to open the door from the outside without a key. When i spoke to the male on receptionist about this he actually asked us to go find the housekeeping team member and ask him to take a look at it. I asked if he could call him and he replied "he doesn't answer his phone". So off i went to look for this housekeeping team member of one of the floors. He came to the room and was unable to fix it and he then asked us to go back down to reception to let them know. At this point, i was quite annoyed as there didn't seem to be any communication between housekeeping or reception.Then the receptionist turned up saying he spoke to his manager and should now be able to fix the door himself, which he did.

I would of rated this hotel 5 stars had the male receptionist handled the situation a bit better.

The room iteself was very clean and spacious. There was five of us in their 5 person bedroom and we didn't feel like it was small for all five of us.

All in all, a good visit and highly recommened you staying here. Very reasonably priced in comparison to a lot of other hotels in the area for that time of year

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cihan1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just the kind of hotel for those of you who travels alone. Affordable, only a walking distance to the major attractions especially Dam Square, a very happening place. Tram stops and bus stops are easy to reach. Though I get the feeling that smoking inside the hotel lobby isn´t forbidden cause I can smell the smoke from my room. My room was just above the entrance. Be careful with the stairs though as they are pretty steep and small.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved it! Everything about this hotel was easy, easy to find, easy check in, easy to find our way around from this hotel as a base. It had a very comfortable bed, good tv, the room was big enough for one and the price was right. It's obviously not the Ritz, as you share toilets and showers but that fine for me. Won't stay anywhere else next time I'm in beautiful Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShoelessJoe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our whole family we decided to stay at this hotel for its location and because they had a rooms for 5 people. It is a Rock'an'Roll theme hotel with a very good location near tram and many spots. Rooms are well decorated, huge for all of us, clean bathroom and nice view to the canals. Be careful with the stairs, something common in all the houses!
The staff were great and they helped us in anyting we asked for. They have breakfast every morning, continental one that it is enough to start walking around the city.
Even the area is very central, the nights were quiet and the days we´ve been there, it was snowing giving a Xmas special touch.
If we come back to Amsterdam, we won´t hesitate to choose again BackStage! Congratulations guys.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnderWater888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I laved my stay at the backstage hotel. Rooms have really querky musical equiptment etc. Was in good location. Not a long walk from dam square. Staff were nice. Breakfast was a little confusing but that may have been because I was a bit hungover from the night before.

good time! Thanks Backstage Hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#78 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#145 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#35 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique Hotel View
#67 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#48 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BackStage Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Property: BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BackStage Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BackStage Hotel Amsterdam is a small hotel next to the venues Paradiso and Melkweg, next to the Leidseplein. All rooms offer LCD TV, Alarmclock radio, I-pod dock, Free WIFI and FlightCase Furniture. The hotel is staffed 24/7. We do not have an elevator. Specialties for musicians on the road. @ the bar you'll find a pool table and instruments which you can play on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Budget Places and Booking.com so you can book your BackStage Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing