We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #131 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in walking distance of everything you would want to do in the city.
The rooms are average. Nothing Special. The walls are paper thin. I would however recommend getting a room with a private bathroom.
The hotel staff were very friendly,courteous & very helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room with a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    210
    57
    11
    10
See reviews for
50
115
53
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monthey, Valais
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hi everybody,

We stayed at the Backstage hotel during 2 nights. The location is perfect, really close to the center. When you are tired, you are happy to walk only 5 minutes from the main center of the city.
When we arrived, the service was really nice, I think it was the boss that welcomed us. After this first day, the service was really poor. The two other employees were really bad with us and just because of it, I won't recommend this hotel.
We booked and double room and we were downstairs just under the bar. I couldn't sleep because people were having a party upstairs and in the room next to us, a couple was having fun all night long...

Room Tip: Ask a room upstairs if you book this hotel, otherwise you will have trouble to sleep even if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThaCet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far corner of Wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Amazingly helpful staff, couldn't do enough for us at any time of the day.
Hotel, room and bathroom were spotlessly clean - we were in room 106 (triple ensuite).
Location is perfect, few hundred metres from Leidseplein Square which is close enough to stumble back to but far enough that you don't get any of the noise!
Didn't have the breakfast as we were never up in time but it looked and smelt nice.
The only thing I will say is don't have the beer on tap at the bar, didn't taste great and even the barman didn't know what it was!

Room Tip: Don't be put off by lots of steep stairs, it's the same everywhere in Amsterdam. Just rememb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bint86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Backstage Hotel for 4 nights and had a really enjoyable stay. Beds were super comfortable the rooms were very clean. We slept so well here!
I really liked the decor; backstage style mirror with bulbs around, over bed spot lights and the iPod dock was really good! Shower was great (it was set out in the walk in wet room style). Always hot & clean.
The staff were all really friendly and willing to help out with anything. (Even a toastie at midnight, haha) The bar area was nice, although we didn't see many other people around.
Location is good, very close to Leidseplein (about 5 mins walk) and there are loads of shops, cafe's and places to eat here. It is about a 15-20 min walk to Dam Square/Red Light District and 20 mins to the Museumplein, so it is quite easy to get around and see everything.
We would stay again here on our next trip to Amsterdam, due to the friendly staff, clean rooms & great location! Great value for money here.
The only downside is the extremely steep stairs, but if you know anything about Amsterdam you will know that they can't be avoided wherever you stay! (It's much easier to crawl up than walk!) :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were allowed to check-in a bit earlier and check-out a bit later just by asking one of the staff. The bar was not as lively as advertised, but still nice. The bed was really comfortable just needs to be shuffled back into place sometimes. The lights around the room vary a lot. The one around the mirror are really strong, whereas the ones over the bed and in the ceiling barely light up the room. The rooms aren't very big but have a surprising amount of storage (with a tall closet, and an ottoman that opens).

Room Tip: Remember you need to request a double bed when you book if you need one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

One of the staff members with the long, curly hair was really nice to us after we had arrived really early in the morning. We had to wait a few hours before a room was ready, but we ended up in this large room for four people although there were only two of us due to a technicality. The room was almost at the top of the building and the staircases are EXTREMELY narrow so it is a bit of a challenge getting your luggage up there. Might I suggest packing lightly if you're staying here? The room itself was awesome and large and had cool décor and a view overlooking the street and the canal nearby. We even had a Guitar Hero setup which we used before leaving. Beds are comfy and showers are great, nice water pressure and temperature. They even provide shower gel and hand wash soap. WiFi can get pretty congested, but once you're on it works well. Breakfast is 6 euros, and although it is probably worth it, we chose to forego breakfast.

I would stay here again if we could get a good deal. The location is right near the Leidseplein, which has a myriad of pubs and food options. There is also a great tram stop which seems to be a good connecting point for a lot of routes. Amsterdam has an amazing tram system, so it is really easy to get everywhere, but you won't have to go far from this location to have a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CookieCrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here in the middle of the week just for one night. The staff were great. The room was adequate for the price. The location is great and you are close to all kinds of action and can get advice as to whats on. Its a long walk up narrow stairs to the top floor so dont stay if you have a mobility problem. We would stay again as its clean, friendly, and has a sense of fun about it.

Room Tip: Dont get the top floor if you any mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#90 of 368 in Amsterdam
861 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#53 of 368 in Amsterdam
860 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#80 of 368 in Amsterdam
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#122 of 368 in Amsterdam
337 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#64 of 368 in Amsterdam
265 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#129 of 368 in Amsterdam
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BackStage Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Property: BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BackStage Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BackStage Hotel Amsterdam is a small hotel next to the venues Paradiso and Melkweg, next to the Leidseplein. All rooms offer LCD TV, Alarmclock radio, I-pod dock, Free WIFI and FlightCase Furniture. The hotel is staffed 24/7. We do not have an elevator. Specialties for musicians on the road. @ the bar you'll find a pool table and instruments which you can play on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your BackStage Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing