We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Tasty & Tasteful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roberto's

Roberto's
Apollolaan 138, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 (0)20 7106025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #275 of 3,334 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty & Tasteful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice restaurant with mostly traditional dishes, although I ordered a fish that was baked in salt. The salt was in a shape of a fish and within it, the actual fish (including head and tail). I expected the fish to be salty, but it was absolute delicious I also ordered fall vegetables, which were grilled to perfection. The restaurant was part of the Hilton Hotel (not my favorite hotel group this one looked much better than many in the US) so quite convenient for business travelers, although less so for tourists as it was outside the city's center.
Even though the food was great, it was quite pricy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jsklnknbrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Roberto's, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Jsklnknbrg,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Roberto’s Restaurant.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us and we thank you for your kind words. We will gladly share all your comments with the Roberto’s team.

Our team is doing its utmost to deliver the highest levels of service and quality. Roberto’s Restaurant is using high quality products as well as wines from Italy. The Italian cuisine offers classic but modern and inspirational dishes from Italy.

We thank you for visiting Roberto’s Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    86
    24
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Attentive service and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is good restaurant: the staff are helpful and looked after us well. They have a bib gourmand menu and an à la carte. The quality of the food is very good: fresh ingredients and a wide selection. The wine prices (as often in Amsterdam) are a bit on the steep side for what they are.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Magnifico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Roberto's, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Magnifico M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Roberto’s Restaurant.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your meal with us and we thank you for your kind words towards our team members. We will gladly share your comments with Roberto’s team.

Our team is doing its utmost to deliver the highest levels of service and quality. Roberto’s Restaurant is using high quality products as well as wines from Italy. The Italian cuisine offers classic but modern and inspirational dishes from Italy.

We thank you for visiting Roberto’s Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kl-ite in Malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Waited to get a table and for service. Noted there was a big group but shouldn't everyone have reasonable service? Was finally showed to a table after trying to stop a few wait staff passing by. Pasta was not great, too salty and the lobster tail was not fresh. Didn't bother with dessert as service was so difficult. Had to call for my bill twice!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Roberto's, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Suetz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Roberto’s Restaurant.

Every feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to constantly improve the level of service we provide to our guests.

We would like to offer our sincere apologies for your experience in Roberto’s Restaurant. We regret to read that you were not satisfied with the service and food level and we have meanwhile briefed both kitchen and service teams to prevent this from happening again in the future.

Thank you for visiting the Roberto’s Restaurant and we hope to welcome you back on another occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great service and food. Not necessarily cheap. Good knowledge around the wines, very enjoyable meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chrisl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Roberto's, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Chrisl54,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Roberto’s Restaurant.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your meal with us and we thank you for your kind words towards our team members. We will gladly share your comments with Roberto’s team.

Our team is doing its utmost to deliver the highest levels of service and quality. Roberto’s
Restaurant is using high quality products as well as wines from Italy. The Italian cuisine offers classic but modern and inspirational dishes from Italy.

We thank you for visiting Roberto’s Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Very upscale Italian menu - I had the pasta dish with shaved truffles - to die for!!! excellent service and a good wine list

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 501Marj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Roberto's, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear 501Marj,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Roberto’s Restaurant.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us and we thank you for your kind words regarding our team members. We will gladly share all your comments with them.

Our team is doing its utmost to deliver the highest levels of service and quality. Roberto’s Restaurant is using high quality products as well as wines from Italy. The Italian cuisine offers classic but modern and inspirational dishes from Italy.

We thank you for visiting Roberto’s Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberto's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Roberto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing