We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hosokawa

Hosokawa
Ranked #849 of 3,561 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $21 - $85
Cuisines: Grill, Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: In the very heart of Amsterdam, chef Hiromichi Hosokawa has been welcoming to his restaurant guests from all over the world, for almost 20 years.Hosokawa, which translates to “narrow river”, will bring you to ancient Japan with its traditional Robata grill, Teppan grill and Sushi style of cooking, but surrounded in a cosmopolitan Amsterdam with its modern and sophisticated ambience.Welcome. And be prepared to be delighted.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
276 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Had the Teppan Yaki meal here and the food was very good
...but..the shared table means you can sit with idiots - which in my case happened....
a wanna be Dutch arms dealer (compete with overly Botoxed woman/wife/girlfriend a middle eastern guy with spoilt "daughters" in tow, and and Israeli and an African guy, actually sounds like a cool table doesn't it?....but - oh dear, dear dear...... Add to this a snobby Japanese waitress who treated us like idiots until I told her id worked in Japan and knew what to do.... And it was overpriced BIG time.
But like I said the food was excellent. (The next table looked great BTW).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FreezingIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    38
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An average sushi place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We went there for a dinner. The ambiance and the service was good. We ordered 5 different sushis, an appetizer and a side dish. Especially sushis were very average. I don't think this is the best place for sushi.

One general problem was the vantilation system inside. There are open cooking systems at ~10 people tables. It is an open environment. And, while the chef cooking the food, the smoke was everywhere. Our clothes still smell barbeque steak sauce.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Turev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
2 reviews
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We had menus (mixed meat and Scottish Angus respectively) and we were not disappointed. The chef was pleasant, the main courses were excellent. The miso soup, salad and dessert
were less interesting.

Helpful?
Thank Povl555
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nicosia-Cyprus
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“BEST JAPANESE RESTAURANT IN AMSTERDAM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

It certainly is.Great sushi and teppanyaki, excellent service and carefully selected japanese beers and wines.Polite atmoshere and nice decoration.Highly recomended although expensive .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nikosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious and a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I was travelling with my husband and parents and we went in on the Saturday night hoping for a table, the place was buzzing and fully booked - so we booked for the Sunday instead.

We all thought it was a brilliant experience and the quality of the food was fantastic - really tasty and plenty of it. We would highly recommend and whilst it is expensive we were there for a few hours and it really is an experience. If you think what you'd pay for theatre and a meal out then it doesn't seem too expensive then....and watching the chef at work was definitely entertaining. He was really friendly and very skilled.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heffalump321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hosokawa also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hosokawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing