We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average sushi place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hosokawa

Hosokawa
Ranked #997 of 3,332 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $22 - $89
Cuisines: Grill, Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: In the very heart of Amsterdam, chef Hiromichi Hosokawa has been welcoming to his restaurant guests from all over the world, for almost 20 years.Hosokawa, which translates to “narrow river”, will bring you to ancient Japan with its traditional Robata grill, Teppan grill and Sushi style of cooking, but surrounded in a cosmopolitan Amsterdam with its modern and sophisticated ambience.Welcome. And be prepared to be delighted.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An average sushi place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We went there for a dinner. The ambiance and the service was good. We ordered 5 different sushis, an appetizer and a side dish. Especially sushis were very average. I don't think this is the best place for sushi.

One general problem was the vantilation system inside. There are open cooking systems at ~10 people tables. It is an open environment. And, while the chef cooking the food, the smoke was everywhere. Our clothes still smell barbeque steak sauce.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Turev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
København
2 reviews
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We had menus (mixed meat and Scottish Angus respectively) and we were not disappointed. The chef was pleasant, the main courses were excellent. The miso soup, salad and dessert
were less interesting.

Helpful?
Thank Povl555
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nicosia-Cyprus
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“BEST JAPANESE RESTAURANT IN AMSTERDAM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

It certainly is.Great sushi and teppanyaki, excellent service and carefully selected japanese beers and wines.Polite atmoshere and nice decoration.Highly recomended although expensive .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nikosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious and a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I was travelling with my husband and parents and we went in on the Saturday night hoping for a table, the place was buzzing and fully booked - so we booked for the Sunday instead.

We all thought it was a brilliant experience and the quality of the food was fantastic - really tasty and plenty of it. We would highly recommend and whilst it is expensive we were there for a few hours and it really is an experience. If you think what you'd pay for theatre and a meal out then it doesn't seem too expensive then....and watching the chef at work was definitely entertaining. He was really friendly and very skilled.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heffalump321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
207 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

For our table of 12 people, we found that 10 teppanyaki sets of beef, lamb, fish, shrimp, & chicken was more than enough. We were given four kinds of dipping sauce. Service was very good. This was our most memorable meal during our 6 days' stay in Amsterdam.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jinky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hosokawa also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hosokawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing