We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi”
Review of Hosokawa

Hosokawa
Reserve with
Hosokawa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #902 of 3,909 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $93
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: In the very heart of Amsterdam, chef Hiromichi Hosokawa has been welcoming to his restaurant guests from all over the world, for almost 20 years.Hosokawa, which translates to “narrow river”, will bring you to ancient Japan with its traditional Robata grill, Teppan grill and Sushi style of cooking, but surrounded in a cosmopolitan Amsterdam with its modern and sophisticated ambience.Welcome. And be prepared to be delighted.
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I eat a lot of sushi and this was one of the freshest I have eaten. The hand made rolls were amazon and the maki rolls were great as well. Service was good and although expensive you get what you pay for

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen67London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    44
    14
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Even from the beginning you can feel the warmth in the treatment. The ambient was not noisy, the music was low, which gave a great deal of tranquility.
The food was really superb, well balanced; some dishes were really awesome, one of the best my picky daughter even tried.
The personal was attentive, nice and skillful.
An absolutely must-go when returning to Amsterdam.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElrosMZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese Food & Skillful Chef”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were invited for dinner at this restaurant. The moment you walked in, you would be impressed by the set up and decor of the place.

We were given a few types of soya sauce/ seasoning to eat with our food. The chef cooked in front of us and we were very impressed with his skilfullness at chopping, slicing and cutting the ingredients. He was very skilfull and fast with his hands.

The service was good too. If I go back to Amsterdam, I will visit the place again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BorneoKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good rest with reasenable price”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We went for a company dinner, the good was good and the price as well. Actually 200 euros for 3 persons, including 2,5 bottles of saque. The place is nice for a date amd also for a different company meeting. Worth to try.

Helpful?
Thank Mchaib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The sushi was excellent, very fresh. We ordered a la carte for the teppanyaki and we had too much food! The meat was excellent with great flavours and perfectly cooked. The rice and vegetables was again lovely, certainly one to remember! The wine menu was good although expensive. The service was very friendly although you should NOT expect the tappanyaki 'show' you get in most places - it is a much more Japanese approach than American!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheChap69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hosokawa also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hosokawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing