We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Utrechtsedwarstafel

Utrechtsedwarstafel
Ranked #167 of 3,722 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $53 - $81
Cuisines: French, Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: Within strolling distance from Theatre Carré there is the stage of Hans Verbeek and Igor Sens, the two culinary artists from restaurant Utrechtsedwarstafel. Their performance is a ballet of wine and food. Indulge yourself with the culinary compositions by Igor the Chef and the wines of Sommelier Hans. An adventurous evening awaits. The concept of Utrechtsedwarstafel is straightforward and easily explained. Igor purchases the freshest produce of the season and subsequently composes fine delicate dishes for a multiple course menu. Just mention the number of courses you wish to eat.For every menu Hans creates the perfect wine arrangement. Every course is accompanied by the right match of wine. However, the arrangements vary with respect to the complexity and quality.The bare essence of Utrechtsedwarstafel is that every course is a fertile marriage of wine and food. Its fruits bear your palate a sheer joy.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The title says it all, it was really good food and i have to admit i was a please with the price especially when in London you would pay at least double this

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Achilles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    18
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Elegant dinner, amazing experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The whole experience at Utrechtsedwarstafel is amazing. Very fancy yet not intimidating. Both Hans and Igor took time to visit the table and talk about each wine and dish being served. It is quaint and comfortable. The food, wine and atmosphere were top notch.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wheretoonextOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin County
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic four-course meal, where each dish was a surprise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated our anniversary and had dinner here last week. The restaurant is very simply decorated (with a couple of whimsical paintings). We opted for the four-course dinner (not counting the amuse bouche). Our first dish was poultry-based: thin slivers of duck breast, perfectly cooked, with a rich piece of goose fois gras lying on top. There was an accompanying salad with duck as well. The next course was seafood based: I believe it was a rouget, perfectly cooked, lying atop a bed of sea vegetables, accompanied with white asparagus (which were in season at the time). The meat course involved lamb cooked three ways. My notes say "best lamb ever!", and we live near a farm that raises and sells lamb, so it's not like we never eat lamb . . . The dish was excellent. Finally the dessert had strawberries (also in season) atop something that sadly I can't recall, with a scoop of ice cream. The accompanying wines were all very pleasant, and a little off the beaten path. For me, I've never been to a restaurant where you really did not know what was coming next -- no menu, no clue as to what dish would next appear. Everything was very well prepared. In fact, we had to wait quite a bit of time for our fish dish to appear, and that was because the kitchen was not happy with the first cooking, and so they started all over again. It was worth the wait, and told me that the restaurant owners/chefs are perfectionists. This was a very memorable meal, and very delicious. We enjoyed it from start to finish.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ba0067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Wine Food And Genuine Caring Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Over the top and wonderful. The wines were sublime - we were able to to select the higher tier :) From the unique champagne through the wonderful European selections from Pinot to a late harvest grenache and other rare finds, Hans pulled out all the stops. Paired with a lovely assortment of seasonable dishes expertly prepared and a knock out desert, it was a great meal. Call and get a reservation. You will love it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bko61163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I will be back)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Welcoming hosts! Thank you very much for your skill, a perfect combination of taste food and wine. I am sure to come back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Utrechtsedwarstafel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Utrechtsedwarstafel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing