We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great fresh Thai food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kooning van Siam

Kooning van Siam
Ranked #1,868 of 3,425 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great fresh Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Quaint little white tablecloth place. Food was very fresh and delicious with large portions and ok service. Mint tea was awesome on a cool evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_McGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    7
    1
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Thai food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were lucky to accidently walk into this restaurant as we got hungry. I must say this must have been the best meal my husband and I ever had anywhere. Very authentic! You can see your meal being prepared and how clean the kitchen is. The only thing that was not great was the wine, but we did not go for the expensive one. Strongly recomment the 28euro seafood main with fish, calamary, shrimp and crad baked together - extremely delicious and quite a large portion, as all their mains, enough for two paople.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BezImyannayaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ok ok ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

all are reasonable Staff very friendly and helpful. Wine pairings very good. Not sure I would have chosen veal cheek, but it was very tasty. After dinner, the chef showed how the dish was prepared. Very open kitchen. Nice experience.

Visited nov 2013

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank van k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tantalising Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Was reccommended by a local person; that this was the best Thai in the area. We weren't disappointed. The food, the service, the wine and atmosphere was stupendous. Good size portions with lots of fragrant flavours. We had the satay chicken and the ribs to start and Pad Thai for main course all delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had been doing the Red Light District for a few hours and were tired and hungry. Were heading out of the area to find a spot for dinner and came across this restaurant. Weren't quite sure about it but are really glad we stopped.

Very cosy, view of the kitchen, polite professional service, (even though we only ordered one main) and when the entrees arrived we were blown away. BEST SATAY EVER (and we eat Thai a lot!). Dim Sums were excellent and spiced to perfection.

Red wine from d"Oc was very pleasant and good value by the glass.

The red chicken curry was just superb (rice included) and extra rice was supplied without being asked.

All in all we were very happy with this meal and a new standard for some of our regular Thai restaurants to aim for.

Well done Kooning Van Siam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ceebails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kooning van Siam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kooning van Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing