We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best green Thai curry ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kooning van Siam

Kooning van Siam
Reserve with
Kooning van Siam is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,751 of 3,637 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best green Thai curry ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Arrived with minimal expectations but food was first class. Intended to sit outside but soon suffered a shower but despite being busy a table inside was soon found. If you like Thai food this restaurant is a must.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    8
    1
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not the same....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This used to be my favorite Thai anywhere in the world. I heard a few years ago it had changed owners and went there soon after, finding it much the same. This time, though, it appears the new owners have put their stamp on the restaurant.

Appetizers are close to what I remember, but we ordered our "usual" of Beef Thai Basil and Tofu Panang, and while both were pretty good, neither was anything special. Portions have gotten HUGE (catering to American tourists maybe?). Wine list much smaller (no more Pouilly Fume!) but the house white by the glass was inexpensive and a nice wine for the food.

Service was faster than I remember, but we were there pretty early.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Need a spicy soup?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice Thai with terrace behind the Red Light district. Very good prices and amazing Tom Yamg Koon soup and Fried noodles with egg, tofu and beef

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Franaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The food is super and the personal is friendly and nice. It is a cozy place. Something you should try if you like Thai food. I really suggest you to go there!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We turned up as a group of seven with no reservation on a Friday evening but managed to get a table. Service was excellent and it was explained that as food is cooked fresh there would be a delay if we all had separate dishes. We chose some mixed starters and three mains to share and these all came in good order and were superb. Staff were great and liked the decor. All in all a great night and meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greengiant1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kooning van Siam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kooning van Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing