We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Need a spicy soup?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kooning van Siam

Kooning van Siam
Ranked #1,763 of 3,368 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
madrid
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Need a spicy soup?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice Thai with terrace behind the Red Light district. Very good prices and amazing Tom Yamg Koon soup and Fried noodles with egg, tofu and beef

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Franaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    25
    7
    0
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The food is super and the personal is friendly and nice. It is a cozy place. Something you should try if you like Thai food. I really suggest you to go there!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We turned up as a group of seven with no reservation on a Friday evening but managed to get a table. Service was excellent and it was explained that as food is cooked fresh there would be a delay if we all had separate dishes. We chose some mixed starters and three mains to share and these all came in good order and were superb. Staff were great and liked the decor. All in all a great night and meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greengiant1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had a craving for Thai dinner on my last day in Amsterdam and choose the Kooning van Siam after reading Trip advisor reviews. This is a very tiny restaurant located along Voorburgwal canal near the RLD. The ground floor has probably 5 tables and theres also a 1st floor. At 9pm the restaurant was already full and I was regretfully informed that it would take long time to get a table. However, I waited and got a table in 40 minutes.
The service is really brisk and the proprietor is very busy but friendly. I ordered a Singha, a Thai beer, which was surprisingly very good. The tiny room is decorated with some Thai artifacts lending a slight oriental feel. Red curry with chicken was amazing and I was tempted to ask for some extra curry !
Overall, a very servicable place. Dont expect anything fancy or a great ambience. But the right place to go for an authentic Thai meal. Would be back when I visit Amsterdam next !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BhaskarSohoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went to de kooning van siam with friends. It's a cosy, friendly place. There is an open kitchen so you can see them freshly prepare the food. I would describe the food as no-nonsense, westernised thai food. But the quality and taste are very good. They have an interesting take on curry, roasting the meat and adding the sauce later. This was very tasty indeed. With good portions and a fair price, it's definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seolferwulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kooning van Siam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kooning van Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing