We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Kooning van Siam

Kooning van Siam
Reserve with
Kooning van Siam is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,829 of 3,897 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went to de kooning van siam with friends. It's a cosy, friendly place. There is an open kitchen so you can see them freshly prepare the food. I would describe the food as no-nonsense, westernised thai food. But the quality and taste are very good. They have an interesting take on curry, roasting the meat and adding the sauce later. This was very tasty indeed. With good portions and a fair price, it's definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Seolferwulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillerod, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Better than blue Elephant”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The location is great and the interiour is very authentic thai. decoration is like eating in grand palace and the sent is nice remind you of Thailand. The food is very tasty and the diches marked as strong is Thai strong. The service is good and helpfull. This is my second time here and i would surely come back.

Thank aab163
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Quality Thai restaurant”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This quality Thai restaurant is located in the old center of Amsterdam in a centuries old house. It is decorated with Thai art. Service is correct.
The menu shows a extensive list of Thai food. I had my favorite Pad Thai and this was well prepared, the taste was delicious and the portion was more than sufficient. The restaurant is very popular with tourist.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pensionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Curtain, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely rude service. We got kicked out of this restaurant!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I were very hungry and searching for Thai food around 9:30 in the evening while walking in Amsterdam during our first day there. We came across De Kooning van Slam and either the manager or owner sat us down in a table that seats four.

We looked at the menu, and when he finally came around to take our order, we ordered one Pad Thai dinner, one appetizer, rice, and bottled water.

After taking our order, he replied, "Is that all?"

"Yes", I replied.

"You have to leave," was his response.

"What do you mean we have to leave?".

"You have to leave because you didn't order enough food" the manager replied to us. "I can seat more people at this table and get a larger order".

We didn't know if he was joking or not. He wasn't rude when he told this to us, but we were stunned. There wasn't even a line of people to get into this restaurant, and you would think that any restaurant owner would be happy to get business. But not the manager of De Kooning van Slam.

So we left. We found another Thai restaurant within 5 minute walk. We asked him if that was normal service we should expect in Amsterdam. He said "no". Our cousins that live in Amsterdam were really surprised at this manager's actions, and were embarrassed that this event could even happen in their city.

Bottom Line: There are lots of Thai restaurants in this part of Amsterdam that want your business, and cost much less. Do not patronize De Kooning van Slam.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Service
2 Thank indopassat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gem in the Red Light District”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We selected this based on reviews and were pleasantly surprised. Good value. Excellent food. Everything was prepared fresh out in the open galley kitchen by the Chef. We didn't have a reservation but there were tables available early in the evening - it filled up with regulars later in the evening. The Thai Red Curry (chicken) is my recommendation.

Visited August 2012
Thank Jammu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kooning van Siam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Kooning van Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing