We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worth staying!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alp Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alp Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #40 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth staying!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great atmosphere and rooms were descent. The location was very close to the center, 10 min. walk. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. When they cleaned our room the were leaving two apples, two chocolates and 2 small bottles of water.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos_1978Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    191
    37
    14
    21
See reviews for
59
218
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Located 10 minutes from the main railway station, the hotel is easily reached by tram 13 which stops outstanding. A small, stylish hotel with the warmest of welcomes and lots of nice touches including a drink on arrival and free tea coffee and fresh fruit for guests throughout the day. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast selection is exceptional.

Room Tip: Located on a busy street - back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swetrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Small hotel, small rooms but adequate, large balcony over looking the rear courtyard, reception staff were excellent, friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was very good, all fresh and tasty, also there was a good choice.
It's easy to get to, tram 13 stops right outside, it only took 45 minutes from Schiphol to being checked in, we were allowed to check in 3 hours early which was helpful.
But loses 2 stars from us, I particularly booked a room that provided a kettle and coffee making facilities, there was not a kettle or any hot drink facilities.
Overall I would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fishstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A typical tall Amsterdam house with steep staircase. All rooms well equipped, tea, coffee making facilities, very clean en-suite and room. Good breakfast, decent bread and good choice, plenty of fresh fruit available. Staff very helpful and friendly, always greeted us warmly and asked if we would like a drink on returning from our sight seeing. Tram outside door. Buy a 7.50 euro 24 hour ticket from reception and travel all around the city. Handy for the Rijksmuseum, main grachten, Anne Frank house etc. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by tram noise, ask for a room at the back and don't stay if you can't ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antoinette92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Was in Amsterdam last weekend with a group of friends staying at the Alp Hotel. Arrived late Friday evening and the staff were great and provided us with complimentary drinks while we got all the rooms sorted out. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to Dam Square however in an area I was familiar with and there are plenty of bars and restaurants around. The hotel is small but modern and very clean. We had 2 double rooms and one triple, the triple was a little cramped but ok for a couple of nights. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, not much space for cases or clothes but ok. Most have a small balcony, all ensuite, towels, hairdryer and safe. Breakfast is traditionally Dutch, cheese, bread, cold meat, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, tea and coffee. Fruit, tea and coffee are all available free all day at reception. The breakfast area turns into the Hotel Bar in the evenings and a good meeting place. The bar is open until 3am however the night security guard who serves in the bar late at night can be a little off putting, not the most pleasant, chatty or hospitable however this did not spoil our stay. This is a nice hotel however it is a little bit away from the centre of Amsterdam, tram stop is on the doorstep and the staff are great.

Room Tip: Double rooms are great, to make it a triple they add another bed so can be a little cramped, balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

had a great stay at this hotel. a bit further out from the centre but tram stop right outside the hotel. hotel staff very very friendly and helpful. all tea and coffee included which is a great touch. our room was very small but suitable enough as we were not spending much time in it. clean, had shower and TV all that was needed. only real problem with this hotel is the steep stairs. was out of breath very time walking up them, but this is no fault of the hotel. would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends

Room Tip: maybe the rooms with the balconies are a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gail b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

When I booked this hotel, I did not know what to expect, because of the price, but I made the reservations anyways because most of the hotels I wanted were fully booked. When we arrived, we were greeted with a smile and he was very helpful. He checked us in, made us comfortable, took our luggage to our room and offered us free drinks as a welcome. He told us that breakfast was from 7-10 AM. Our room was simple and clean and comfortable, and as picky as I am the bathroom was also clean and something I can do for our 5 day stay. It is centrally located and walking distance to most attractions. The next morning, we woke up and went down just to find out that we were 45 minutes late for the breakfast, so we just got our cups of coffee and to our surprise, the guy asked us if we wanted breakfast. I was so embarrassed to say "yes", so I just looked at him and smiled. After all, we were late coming down. To our surprise, he got the whole trays from the kitchen and put everything like it was and so as if we never missed anything! Except for the steep stairs, which I believe is norm is Amsterdam, everything was great. We enjoyed our stay and after a hard day of walking and enjoying Amsterdam, we go home to this humble place and I feel safe. Everyone was great and made us feel at home. If ever we will go back to Amsterdam, I don't mind going back to this place! Thanks everyone for such a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Try to get a back room so it is quiet. Also, get a 2-3 beds so your room is bigger. Ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GingCrab3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#34 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#62 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#199 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#32 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#37 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alp Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alp Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Alp Hotel Amsterdam
Address: De Clercqstraat 52, 1052 NH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alp Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small-scale hotel offers elegant, practical accommodation right in the city center, near the lively shopping and entertainment areas. Have your breakfast in the cozy common room and use the free Wi-Fi to stay in touch with the home front. Weather permitting, you can sit out in the garden and sip a drink. Step outside the main entrance to catch a typical Amsterdam tram right in front of the hotel towards all the tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Alp Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing