We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ok quality for large group” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #211 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok quality for large group”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed here on a stag weekend, the rooms were actually of decent quality. We had 4 single beds, shower room, tv and a sink area. We were on the top floor which is quite a walk with luggage. No lifts in here!

The location was ok, near a tube stop. 10 minute walk to the damrak. No real complaints about the place

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich_uk1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
thank you for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    213
    157
    52
    61
See reviews for
68
299
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

1. My friend and I (both female) reserved a room with two single beds. Upon arrival, we were assigned a room with a single bed, smaller than an American double size bed. We thought there was a mistake and asked to change. We were informed that was just a "request" to have two beds in a two person room. The entire hotel only has one double room that can accommodate two beds, which had already been taken. The staff made no attempt to correct the problem (e.g. move us, offer a second discounted room, comp breakfast, etc).

2. The room was tiny, which having lived in Europe for the last 3 years, we expected. The only piece of decor was a large rat trap clearly visible on the floor. Yuck.

3 CLEANLINESS WAS LACKING!!!!!!!!! Thinking of the mattress, linens and bedding still makes me cringe. All dramatics aside, it was one of the dirtiest beds/bedding I have seen and that is saying a lot as I frequently travel on a budget. The attitude of the staff was cavalier at best. They did try to assist with printing airline boarding passes, but ended up being unsuccessful.

4. The room doors wouldn't shut unless slammed so, being Amsterdam, people came in all hours of the night slamming their doors in order to shut them.

In closing, I would steer clear of this hotel. I believe there are other hotels for the same price or even less expensive where you would get what you pay for/reserve that feature a basic level of hygiene.

Room Tip: Don't count on getting the bed configuration you book as this reservation option is just conside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaNNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in room 8. It was a lovely clean room, and whilst small, had a nice comfortable bed, a decent sized bathroom and enough space for a table, two chairs, two hiking backpacks and a little wardrobe space. There was also a small safe and plenty of electrical outlets. The room was very clean, and the water pressure/shower was great. The hotel is not far from town if you go up the right street, maximum ten minute walk to Rembrandt Plein but it is also close to public transport links and some of the other tourist attractions like Heineken experience. Furthermore, the staff were absolutely lovely and very helpful, with no problems about keeping our luggage safe for a while. Overall, we had a lovely stay, and even came back early one day to look out of our window and drink some wine. We had a great time and would happily stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bear_Cat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
thank u ver much for this great review

advise book directly at our website and get discount
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprusjill
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Apologies for what will probably be a lengthy review but I feel it needs to be. My daughter and I returned from Amsterdam on Sunday after a 4 night stay at the Iris Hotel.
I was concerned before we arrived after reading some of the reviews on here. My daughter and I have stayed in some of the best hotels around in various countries around the world. So what did we find.....

Rooms - small yes but spotless - bathroom completley functional and also spotless why do
people complain about the size of a room/bathroom? You do not come to Amsterdam to sit in your room all day! You need a room to sleep and take a shower.

Stairs - Yes steep narrow stairs but not Mount Everest! Surely if you have mobility problems you check a hotel and its access before booking??

Staff - Amazing, everyone one of them couldnt do enough for you, they are so helpful, polite and chatty really made us feel special.

Garden - Beautiful garden to sit in downstairs

Value for money/location - Amsterdam is one of the more expensive European cities so for value for money and location it was great.

Breakfast - Again fantastic, fresh and lots of choice.

The Iris is all about what your expectation is, if you are looking for a clean hotel that will meet your needs with lovely staff, comfy beds and clean rooms and bathrooms in a great location then you cant go wrong. If you want 5 star go and book yourself in the Krasnapolsky but I bet you want have half as good a time or get the amazing service from the lovely staff! We will definitley be going back

Jill & Holly (UK)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cyprusjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
thank u ver much for this great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Staff is extremely friendly and helpful making you feel welcome. Location is relatively good. Overall price-worthy stay at Amsterdam city area.
There is narrow stairs as at all small hotels at Amsterdam.

Room Tip: There is busy street at front side, back side is quieter. No elevator but best rooms are still at to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
thank u ver much for this great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I, both nearly 60, had a wonderful 3 night stay a week or so back. Room small but clean and perfectly acceptable for cost. Staff very friendly and helpful. Close to trams. Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sollypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
thank u ver much for this great review

advise book directly at our website and get discount
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

After reading previous posts I was terrified of what I might find at this hotel. Needn't have worried. Yes, the room was small but as we were only using it for somewhere to sleep/ clean up it fitted our needs. Staff were helpful and polite, beds were comfortable and there were no noise issues with neighbouring rooms.
If you want a no frills place to stay I would recommend Hotel Iris

Room Tip: Typical of all old Amsterdam houses, stairs are narrow and steep so contact manager and request room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#299 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#280 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#230 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#250 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Kooyk Hotel
#217 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#209 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Property: Iris Hotel
Address: Sarphatikade 17, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Iris is set in a typical Amsterdam building, just a 15-minute walk from Amsterdam's bustling De Pijp district. Its rooms come with free Wi-Fi. Bike rentals and luggage storage is available and breakfast is served daily. Oosteinde tram stop is a 3-minute walk away, and links to the Rijksmuseum and lively Leidse Square. Dam Square and Amsterdam Central Station are a short ride on tram 16, which stops at the Stadshouderskade, 5 minutes’ walk away. The simply furnished rooms at Hotel Iris come with a private bathroom and a flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Budget Places, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing