We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Amsterdam”
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #283 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in room 8. It was a lovely clean room, and whilst small, had a nice comfortable bed, a decent sized bathroom and enough space for a table, two chairs, two hiking backpacks and a little wardrobe space. There was also a small safe and plenty of electrical outlets. The room was very clean, and the water pressure/shower was great. The hotel is not far from town if you go up the right street, maximum ten minute walk to Rembrandt Plein but it is also close to public transport links and some of the other tourist attractions like Heineken experience. Furthermore, the staff were absolutely lovely and very helpful, with no problems about keeping our luggage safe for a while. Overall, we had a lovely stay, and even came back early one day to look out of our window and drink some wine. We had a great time and would happily stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bear_Cat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

thank u ver much for this great review

advise book directly at our website and get discount

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 753 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

Apologies for what will probably be a lengthy review but I feel it needs to be. My daughter and I returned from Amsterdam on Sunday after a 4 night stay at the Iris Hotel.
I was concerned before we arrived after reading some of the reviews on here. My daughter and I have stayed in some of the best hotels around in various countries around the world. So what did we find.....

Rooms - small yes but spotless - bathroom completley functional and also spotless why do
people complain about the size of a room/bathroom? You do not come to Amsterdam to sit in your room all day! You need a room to sleep and take a shower.

Stairs - Yes steep narrow stairs but not Mount Everest! Surely if you have mobility problems you check a hotel and its access before booking??

Staff - Amazing, everyone one of them couldnt do enough for you, they are so helpful, polite and chatty really made us feel special.

Garden - Beautiful garden to sit in downstairs

Value for money/location - Amsterdam is one of the more expensive European cities so for value for money and location it was great.

Breakfast - Again fantastic, fresh and lots of choice.

The Iris is all about what your expectation is, if you are looking for a clean hotel that will meet your needs with lovely staff, comfy beds and clean rooms and bathrooms in a great location then you cant go wrong. If you want 5 star go and book yourself in the Krasnapolsky but I bet you want have half as good a time or get the amazing service from the lovely staff! We will definitley be going back

Jill & Holly (UK)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cyprusjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

thank u ver much for this great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Staff is extremely friendly and helpful making you feel welcome. Location is relatively good. Overall price-worthy stay at Amsterdam city area.
There is narrow stairs as at all small hotels at Amsterdam.

Room Tip: There is busy street at front side, back side is quieter. No elevator but best rooms are still at to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

thank u ver much for this great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I, both nearly 60, had a wonderful 3 night stay a week or so back. Room small but clean and perfectly acceptable for cost. Staff very friendly and helpful. Close to trams. Would stay again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sollypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

thank u ver much for this great review

advise book directly at our website and get discount

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

After reading previous posts I was terrified of what I might find at this hotel. Needn't have worried. Yes, the room was small but as we were only using it for somewhere to sleep/ clean up it fitted our needs. Staff were helpful and polite, beds were comfortable and there were no noise issues with neighbouring rooms.
If you want a no frills place to stay I would recommend Hotel Iris

Room Tip: Typical of all old Amsterdam houses, stairs are narrow and steep so contact manager and request room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Thank you for your review

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

me and 3 other friends stayed at hotel iris for 4 nights, me and my friend had the ground floor room which was very small.. had to squeeze to get into bed, balcony door was broken so there was a constant draft and we couldnt lock it..and in the bathroom the shower door wouldnt close properly! other than that great stay..breakfast is overpriced save ur money and go to the lidi over the road, staff are great,helpful, very friendly, the hotel is good value for money would most properly stay here again if came on a budget

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melona22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

thnx for the nice review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Really relaxed staff, friendly and helpful. The beds are extremely narrow and quite soft but ok. Location wise Iits at the southeast of the centre which is great if u dont want to be in the middle of all the tourists. Best to get a bike-which they have to rent. its very close to pijp which has a street market and lots of bars and restaurants

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jtraveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#226 of 374 in Amsterdam
451 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#314 of 374 in Amsterdam
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#305 of 374 in Amsterdam
485 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#220 of 374 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#264 of 374 in Amsterdam
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Address: Sarphatikade 17, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $65 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Iris is set in a typical Amsterdam canal house just a 5-minute walk from the bustling De Pijp district. It is accessible by Tramline 4 or Metro lines 51, 53, 54 to the Weesperplein stop. Its smoke free rooms come with free Wi-Fi, flatscreen TV, safebox and linens/amenities. A hearty breakfast buffet is served daily from 08:00 - 10:30 for 9.50 euro/person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing