We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendly inn at canal area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #194 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly inn at canal area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Staff is extremely friendly and helpful making you feel welcome. Location is relatively good. Overall price-worthy stay at Amsterdam city area.
There is narrow stairs as at all small hotels at Amsterdam.

Room Tip: There is busy street at front side, back side is quieter. No elevator but best rooms are still at to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
thank u ver much for this great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    194
    138
    43
    50
See reviews for
61
261
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I, both nearly 60, had a wonderful 3 night stay a week or so back. Room small but clean and perfectly acceptable for cost. Staff very friendly and helpful. Close to trams. Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sollypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
thank u ver much for this great review

advise book directly at our website and get discount
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

After reading previous posts I was terrified of what I might find at this hotel. Needn't have worried. Yes, the room was small but as we were only using it for somewhere to sleep/ clean up it fitted our needs. Staff were helpful and polite, beds were comfortable and there were no noise issues with neighbouring rooms.
If you want a no frills place to stay I would recommend Hotel Iris

Room Tip: Typical of all old Amsterdam houses, stairs are narrow and steep so contact manager and request room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

me and 3 other friends stayed at hotel iris for 4 nights, me and my friend had the ground floor room which was very small.. had to squeeze to get into bed, balcony door was broken so there was a constant draft and we couldnt lock it..and in the bathroom the shower door wouldnt close properly! other than that great stay..breakfast is overpriced save ur money and go to the lidi over the road, staff are great,helpful, very friendly, the hotel is good value for money would most properly stay here again if came on a budget

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melona22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
thnx for the nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Really relaxed staff, friendly and helpful. The beds are extremely narrow and quite soft but ok. Location wise Iits at the southeast of the centre which is great if u dont want to be in the middle of all the tourists. Best to get a bike-which they have to rent. its very close to pijp which has a street market and lots of bars and restaurants

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jtraveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My sister, 2 young nieces (age 1 & 3), and I stayed at the Hotel Iris for a night and it was a fun experience! The room was very clean and the staff are extremely friendly. They even let us put the stroller in storage so we didn't have to bring it up the stairs to our room on the top floor. The stairs are a little steep and skinny but the experience is worth it, super cute hotel and great location!

Room Tip: Make sure you pack light, the stairs are steep and can be tough to bring suitcases up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueKeyHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We have never used tripadvisor as we believe you need to see for yourself... Hotel Iris yes has steep stairs and yes has small bathrooms but isn't that part of the Dutch experience? We are all here to embrace their culture and lifestyle TRUE???
The breakfast is continental, fresh and vast. Coffee, tea, juices, cereals, waffles and muffins not forgetting local ham and cheeses with freshly cooked breads.
The rooms are clean, well serviced and have comfortable beds. The water pressure is strong and plentiful.
And last but not least the lovely staff, you seriously can not fault them. They always have a friendly smile and nothing is too much trouble.
We loved staying there and look forward to our return.
Love from the Girls in room 7 :) xxxxx

Room Tip: Book direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
thank u ver much for this great review

advise book directly at our website and get discount
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#308 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#212 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#207 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#241 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#58 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#105 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Property: Iris Hotel
Address: Sarphatikade 17, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Iris is set in a typical Amsterdam building, just a 15-minute walk from Amsterdam's bustling De Pijp district. Its rooms come with free Wi-Fi. Bike rentals and luggage storage is available and breakfast is served daily. Oosteinde tram stop is a 3-minute walk away, and links to the Rijksmuseum and lively Leidse Square. Dam Square and Amsterdam Central Station are a short ride on tram 16, which stops at the Stadshouderskade, 5 minutes’ walk away. The simply furnished rooms at Hotel Iris come with a private bathroom and a flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Budget Places and Agoda so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing