We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money and very helpful people”
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #275 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I, both nearly 60, had a wonderful 3 night stay a week or so back. Room small but clean and perfectly acceptable for cost. Staff very friendly and helpful. Close to trams. Would stay again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sollypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

thank u ver much for this great review

advise book directly at our website and get discount

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 745 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

After reading previous posts I was terrified of what I might find at this hotel. Needn't have worried. Yes, the room was small but as we were only using it for somewhere to sleep/ clean up it fitted our needs. Staff were helpful and polite, beds were comfortable and there were no noise issues with neighbouring rooms.
If you want a no frills place to stay I would recommend Hotel Iris

Room Tip: Typical of all old Amsterdam houses, stairs are narrow and steep so contact manager and request room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Thank you for your review

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

me and 3 other friends stayed at hotel iris for 4 nights, me and my friend had the ground floor room which was very small.. had to squeeze to get into bed, balcony door was broken so there was a constant draft and we couldnt lock it..and in the bathroom the shower door wouldnt close properly! other than that great stay..breakfast is overpriced save ur money and go to the lidi over the road, staff are great,helpful, very friendly, the hotel is good value for money would most properly stay here again if came on a budget

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melona22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

thnx for the nice review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Really relaxed staff, friendly and helpful. The beds are extremely narrow and quite soft but ok. Location wise Iits at the southeast of the centre which is great if u dont want to be in the middle of all the tourists. Best to get a bike-which they have to rent. its very close to pijp which has a street market and lots of bars and restaurants

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jtraveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My sister, 2 young nieces (age 1 & 3), and I stayed at the Hotel Iris for a night and it was a fun experience! The room was very clean and the staff are extremely friendly. They even let us put the stroller in storage so we didn't have to bring it up the stairs to our room on the top floor. The stairs are a little steep and skinny but the experience is worth it, super cute hotel and great location!

Room Tip: Make sure you pack light, the stairs are steep and can be tough to bring suitcases up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrueKeyHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We have never used tripadvisor as we believe you need to see for yourself... Hotel Iris yes has steep stairs and yes has small bathrooms but isn't that part of the Dutch experience? We are all here to embrace their culture and lifestyle TRUE???
The breakfast is continental, fresh and vast. Coffee, tea, juices, cereals, waffles and muffins not forgetting local ham and cheeses with freshly cooked breads.
The rooms are clean, well serviced and have comfortable beds. The water pressure is strong and plentiful.
And last but not least the lovely staff, you seriously can not fault them. They always have a friendly smile and nothing is too much trouble.
We loved staying there and look forward to our return.
Love from the Girls in room 7 :) xxxxx

Room Tip: Book direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

thank u ver much for this great review

advise book directly at our website and get discount

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I booked to stay for 3 nights paying nearly 300€ for a room, as it was our first holiday, online as the photos of the hotel looked very clean, spacious and comfortable. When we arrived there, we learnt truly how pictures can be deceiving as we were given a room that was the same width as the height of an average man with 2 single bed squeezed into it. To get into the bathroom, you had to side shuffle and the blind for the room were very see through meaning whoever was in the back garden could see into our room whether or not they were closed. When we first complained, the receptionist claimed that she could do nothing about the room and that she would simply put a sheet over the two single bed to make it a double, which was impossible as they were 2 different heights and very uncomfortable. After a 2nd complaint on our very first day we were moved to hotel max over the road and were told by the same receptionist because of their mistake we owed them an extra 10€. The second room, despite being on the top floor, was much nicer in size, however the key failed to work 3 times meaning we were locked out and had to keep running back and forth to Iris to complain. Also my boyfriend was badly bitten by bed bugs in the new room, which did get the 10€ fee waived but wasn't taken seriously by the same receptionist.
The staff were unbelievably rude towards us and left us feeling very angry and stressed during the holiday. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy, absolutely appalling service, rooms, hygiene and staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quin92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Iris R, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Hotel Iris Staff and Management would like to contribute the following information:

1. Hotel photos are in fact of our hotel. It is not possible to publicize pictures of every single room, so guests may stay in an accommodation that has not been featured on our website or through one of our online partners.

2. Accurate dimensions of guest rooms are provided on all online publications and available to potential guests prior to making a reservation. This is specifically done to avoid misunderstandings and false expectations.

3. All of our accommodations are equipped with both black-out drapes and sheer curtains. It is also not certain as to why the guest feels that their room could be looked into as the garden is on the ground floor and the guest's room was on the first. It The hotel was not informed of this dissatisfaction from the beginning of the stay until check-out.

4. The guests were upgraded to a larger room and no 10 euro fee was charged.

5. Room key cards become demagnetized when in close proximity of mobile phones or credit cards. The guests were informed of this after the first incident. They were also informed that in the event that they needed further assistance, the doorbell could be used to call Hotel Iris and avoid having to walk back.

6. When the guests claimed to be bitten by bed bugs, they were immediately offered a room move to which they declined! After several unsuccessful attempts to convince them of the severity of this claim, the guest requested to stay in the same room for the last night. With all due respect to the wishes of each individual, we found it unusual that someone would want return to a room with bed bugs.

7. Regardless of the fact that Hotel Iris is truly selective during the hiring process and prides itself on providing genuinely good service, these guests were not poorly treated. It is understandable that expectations may not have been met and that there are aspects of the hotel that can be improved. Suggesting that our team was rude due to this fact is simply untrue.

With this information we hope to have provided our past, present and future guests with a better understanding of the situation.

We encourage anyone interested in our hotel to please see all of our publications and/or to contact us directly for more information.

With kind regards from Amsterdam,

Hotel Iris Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#314 of 372 in Amsterdam
265 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#233 of 372 in Amsterdam
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#302 of 372 in Amsterdam
483 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#147 of 372 in Amsterdam
404 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#222 of 372 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Address: Sarphatikade 17, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $68 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Iris is set in a typical Amsterdam canal house just a 5-minute walk from the bustling De Pijp district. It is accessible by Tramline 4 or Metro lines 51, 53, 54 to the Weesperplein stop. Its smoke free rooms come with free Wi-Fi, flatscreen TV, safebox and linens/amenities. A hearty breakfast buffet is served daily from 08:00 - 10:30 for 9.50 euro/person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing