We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Small and sparse, but great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #216 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small and sparse, but great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very nice staff and a great location right on the canal, just a short walk to the museums and restaurants. The breakfast was pretty basic, continental style. The room was so small that it had two twin (mattresses only) beds with only 12-18 inches between them, a folding chair and a tv. No room to move around, as the width of the room was as wide as the two beds plus 18 inches. The length was just a bit longer than the beds. The bathroom, while cute, offered a toilet that you had to turn sideways to sit because there was no legroom. It was literally placed in the tile shower area! Strange design! We wondered if perhaps this was a youth hostel because it was so bare bones and tiny. If you are elderly, the stairs are very narrow and steep with no elevator. If you have heavy luggage, it presents a bit of a problem when on the top floor. But we are 18 and 51 years old and in shape so it didn't bother us. In comparison with the other hotels we stayed in around Europe the price did not match up with the accommodations at all. But, as long as you know what to expect, the location and courteous staff are great.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank musicwithleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for the review. This helps to improve our business,.

For a future visit to Amsterdam. Please book directly with us and we can grant a room with preferences as. Garden view or Canal view or groundfloor.These roomtypes are only bookable by the hotel at better room rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    213
    157
    53
    62
See reviews for
68
300
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Estoril, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel was clean and in a house common to Amsterdam. I was happy with the staff that was very helpful and gave good tips for places to visit and go.
The room was big and clean, not famous for luxury, but was confortable. The intention wasn't to stay in the room all day, so it covered our basics needs.
The breakfast was simple, but with variety and once more perfect for our needs of a continental breakfast and i think the breakfast price is a plus, considering other hotels in the same price range.
It was not in the center but was close to transport and the museums zone, in a quiet place.

Room Tip: If you have big bags or are not in a good fit condition, don't choose room in higher floors, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Minabomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank u very much for the review. We hope you come vist us again.


Tip: Book directly by us to have better rates or better aminities
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hello

Hotel location was really good.We went to center by walking a few minutes to tramway,then 5,10 min.to center.
But bed sheets,pillows were extremely dirty (black signs,blood on them,photos attached).It was disgusting.
Best thing is when you complain about sth,hotel reception is doing his/her best to solve the problem and keep saying that they're sorry.

If you want a cheap hotel and near to center,i suggest it,but don't expect a clean room..

Room Tip: Choose a big room,don't choose the cheapest one,you can't even stand at the same time with 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Simca12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Owner at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
We put this matter to the attention of housekeeping. The told me that they change directly the message about the inproper work of a new housekeeping worker.


We gave the room earlier than checkin time to the guest with notification that the room wasn't controlled yet. Unfortunaly the actions after was not mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very convenient and clean hotel for a very cheap price.

Certainly no frills and no customer service to speak of. If you're going to be out most of the day then this is a fine place to sleep for little cash. If you're the kind of person who gets upset by basic accommodation then pay more for a better hotel. If you want to keep it as cheap as possible then this place will do.

Good location, only 15 min walk to main center and the room was a good size. Tiny bathroom but wasn't a problem for us. Importantly the room was warm and clean so we were happy enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elbow7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for the positive words. If you come to Amsterdam again we wil offer you a special arrangement. Please book us directly and you get the best rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flensburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was promissed a loft room
but when arrived tired in the afternoon, we got a dirty and wery wery small room, with toilet in the hall, so small that you hardly couldnt turn aaround in the, same with the room awfull small

will newer recomend this not ewen too my enemy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mrjohn006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
The room which was reserved was a basic room instead of the mentioned room. The guest thought he booked something else. Our hotel has NO LOFT ROOMS for couples. This guest unfortunaly thinks different. Everybody is free to make there comments but this is out of proportion. We are happy that the majority of the guests like Hotel Iris.

If you book directly by us we can give you benefits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Located near Leidseplein.Ideal to start shopping or for a night out. Very friendly staff. We were surprised to find a shower in our room. Small but clean room. If you need a clean and cheap place to sleep, this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esgoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
thank u for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evora, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My room was very small but clean. Although tight, the private bathroom was clean and an advantage. The stairs were a bit steep and tight. The staff is really, really friendly and helpfull. The breakfast/lounge/garden area is very nice. I recommend it because is a good value for money and is close to important places like Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Voldenpark, for example.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for the positive words. If you come to Amsterdam again we wil offer you a special arrangement. Please book us directly and you get the best rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#299 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#281 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#232 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#207 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Kooyk Hotel
#215 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#250 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Property: Iris Hotel
Address: Sarphatikade 17, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Iris is set in a typical Amsterdam building, just a 15-minute walk from Amsterdam's bustling De Pijp district. Its rooms come with free Wi-Fi. Bike rentals and luggage storage is available and breakfast is served daily. Oosteinde tram stop is a 3-minute walk away, and links to the Rijksmuseum and lively Leidse Square. Dam Square and Amsterdam Central Station are a short ride on tram 16, which stops at the Stadshouderskade, 5 minutes’ walk away. The simply furnished rooms at Hotel Iris come with a private bathroom and a flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Budget Places so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing