We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$220
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$230
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $307/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Sebastian's(Amsterdam)
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$466
$377
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$225
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $275/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$417
$382
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$198
$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$339
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (834)
Filter reviews
835 results
Traveler rating
142
259
214
104
116
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
259
214
104
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstairs are steepshort stayheineken experiencerembrandt squaremin walkhotel is in a great locationcentral stationtram stopcity centrelidlcanalstaircasestops
Filter
Updating list...
527 - 532 of 835 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hostel team was really nice and helpful.
The room was ok but the bed sheet were a bit dirty...
Plus we were just in front of the reception desk, so it was a bit noisy.
But nice place anyway, it was especially pleasant to have our breakfast close to the little garden outside.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Estelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Come back again and we make a special arrangement for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is a cheap hotel with a great location and great staff. Everyone I met during my stay were helpful and friendly. The rooms aren't the greatest, and the beds are not the comfiest, but it's just fine for a few days' stay. The wall-to-wall carpet in the rooms could well be replaced by wooden floors, but to me that was no biggie. When in Amsterdam, you should *NOT* spend more time than absolutely necessary in your hotel room!

Unless you've got a back that requires high quality beds, this hotel is a no-brainer for people who want a cheap hotel with access to the canals, tram, bus and even reaching the city centre by foot in less than 20 mins.

I will definitely consider the Iris for my next trip to Amsterdam.

Just be aware that this is not a high quality hotel, and might not fit the bill for older people due to steep stairs (good luck avoiding that in Amsterdam!), small rooms and not-the-best beds.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cmyrland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for the review. Hope see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel is cool, in a Beautiful place, not so far from the city center and near the metro station and the bus stop. The room was not so big, but is ok. The price is good and last but not least The girls at the desk are very Nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nejo_DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014
Google Translation

Vi ringraziamo per il vostro apprezzamento. Speriamo di darvi il benvenuto come ospite nel nostro hotel di nuovo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great location, just a 3 minute walk to Rembrantplain (excuse the spelling on that).

The hotel itself is basic, but great if you just need a room to sleep and chill out in.

Rooms are cleaned daily and staff are friendly.

I can't comment on the food, as we did not have breakfast at the hotel. However, the dining area was clean, well presented and well lit.

As the hotel is a traditional Dutch terrace, the staircases are rather slim. I could imagine this being a problem for larger or disabled visitors.

Oh, and my one quibble. Room #8's bed is right in front of the radiator/hot air vent. A bit hot at night time, but the window is also above the bed. So not much of a problem and presumably room specific.

All in all, a nice little hotel that is pretty central and relatively cheap!

Oh, and the vending machines in the entrance are great for a midnight munchfest, should you forget to stop at the supermarket just around the corner on your way back from the coffee shop

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BakesXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014
Google Translation

Helaas hebben we niks gehoord gedurende verblijf van gast. Wij doen er alles aan om een gast tevreden te stellen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

I checked in here to my misfortune on the 9th. I wil give a run down of this place, starting with the positive.

The staff are friendly, polite and helpful.

Now for the negative.

Firstly, the rooms are the smallest and most disgusting places on earth. The carpets are ready for incineration and the walls are marked all over. The toiletshower (yes, spelt deliberately for understanding) is quite frankly non-functional. You cannot close the toiletshower door whilst on the loo, and if you use the shower, the entire bathroom will get soaked.

The linen is mostly clean, but the towels looked like they had cigarette marks on them.

The basin had a huge crack in it.

The walls separating at least my room where prefab, so I could hear all the conversations of my neighbors, intimate and otherwise.

The location is not good either - it is at least 30 mins walk from Dam Square.

There are better hotels closer to the center which are similarly priced - the Iris is hence in no way value for money. In fact, for what you get, it is very expensive.

They also charged me for having a double bed in my room instead of two singles - €40!

I cannot warn people away enough. Stay somewhere else.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Unfortunaly we didnt had any respons about this complaint during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews