We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as supposed”
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #289 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is good for 2-3 nights, the room and the bathroom is too small for a longer stay.
The hotel is clean and the staff is polite. The location is good approx 2,5 km from the Central station by walk or you can choose tram No. 4.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoborc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

thank you for your postive response. We hope to welcome you as guest in amsterdam again.

We always listen to our guest and so we can improve our services. Lately we improved our breakfast facility and we have extend our services during the day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 772 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a bad experience last week-end.
A separate bed for a couple, a dirty room in the basement and a very noisy staff in the front desk which is located also in the basement.
We spent 240 EUR for 2 nights, we checked out 3 hours after our check in to change the hotel.
The staff did not make any effort to retain us or to figure how to solve the issue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AhmedBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

We offering double or twin rooms as one room type. This an preference and goes by the house.
This is supposed to be mentioned at the bookings websites. We informed al agencies about this.
We advise to book directly by our hotel. If you book by an booking partner please contact us directly if the bedding is important for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure what other people are talking about . From reading other reviews I had major reservations about this place but was really great. Staff are so nice and friendly . Yes rooms are small and stairs are steep but unless you are an OAP or morbidly obese then you will be grand. Rooms were clean and serviced daily too ....location is fantastic too with trams to city center about 3 minute walk away. Would 100% stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lapdfreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thanks for the great review. Please let us know when you come to amsterdam. Appreciation and understandness for the effort our staff is doing to improve our guests stay in the great city of amsterdam is the best compliment we can get.

In the main time we upgraded some rooms. New carpets, new beds etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed in the quad room on the top floor. The room size was too small for four people. It felt like a hostel.

Positive side : Friendly staff. Location is not too bad.

Negative side: Mosquitoes in the summer, couldn't sleep at night due to bites. Couldn't close the window either as it was too stuffy and hot ( providing a fan would be nice). Very narrow stairs, my parents (late 40s) tripped and almost fell couple of times. Hygiene is questionable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

thanks for your critics. Feedback is welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

It was the time for IBC2013. I was busy and had no time to reserve hotel at earlier time. So I had to order the rooms in this hotel. Me and four my colleges arrived Iris Hotel at 13th of September. Of course we understood that it was not the best hotel for our money. But this time in Amsterdam is really popular in the broadcast and post-production world. First of all we were surprised a little by handmade "special offer for IBC guests" printed and put in clear plastic. Then by size and looking of the rooms. There were no rebuild and repair for a long years. Next morning there was the water not hot enough. But we were really busy at the exhibition so we only had a sleep in our rooms. At the evening there was really cold in our rooms. But at the nighttime they switch on some hotter. At the morning there was hot and boring. Water was still not hot enough.
The most amazing thing had happened at the last day. This day we've got not worm but ice-cool water in our bathrooms. Maybe because of it I forgot in my room some cheese which was bought at Altmeer were I went especially for this. We checked out at the morning but we left our luggage in the hotel. So they know that we'll be back. It was not the first time when I forget my things in the hotel rooms. But always I've got my things. Once some hotel in the USA sent my something by DHL. At the evening I asked at the reception about my cheese. Lady answered me that the room was cleaned and there were nothing there. When I asked here to take a look I was answered that there are another guests. I asked her to do this by herself and described were I left the cheese. No reaction. After that I told here about the ice-water in our rooms at the morning as the goodby. Wide-opened eyes were the answer.
This hotel may be only the love-hotel but not the hotel for the guests of so important forum which can be reserved on booking.com

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlVol_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

You should avoid this hotel if you like space (and breathing room), the rooms are ridiculously small to the point where beds have to be placed at certain angles or doors won't open. The "secret" garden is not clean and nor are the room balconies. The location and reception staff are all that is good about this hotel, the location is convenient (walking distance to most interesting places) and reception staff really friendly. The walls are paper thin so you can hear "everything" at all hours of the day and sadly night! The hot water makes an appearance (if at all) when you least expect it in the shower, and the bathrooms are so small that one has to engage in a game of twister to just get the door. Overall, would not stay here again and would not recommend either (zero value for money)!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nish v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

On behalf of the owner please contact us about this. There must be an misunderstanding on this.

We want a proper solution

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The first contact is surprising by the narrow entrance, hall, stairs and the location of the reception in the basement. Then it is annoying by the difficulty of carrying your luggage on the tight and steep steps. Then you see that a part of the bathroom (the sink) is in your bedroom and that you can only sit on your toilet with the door open. Then you understand that what could have been a vestibule actually is the room.
And the second day you start enjoying it. It is abrupt but pleasant, with a friendly staff, a beautiful (and tiny) garden and, most important, it is in Amsterdam. You begin to understand that life is out, only sleeping is in the hotel, wisdom that is facilitated by living in this hotel. And what a life is out there!

Room Tip: Not for claustrophobics! If you cannot live in tight spaces, choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#315 of 375 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#186 of 375 in Amsterdam
278 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#307 of 375 in Amsterdam
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#233 of 375 in Amsterdam
454 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#237 of 375 in Amsterdam
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Address: Sarphatikade 17, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $49 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Iris is set in a typical Amsterdam canal house just a 5-minute walk from the bustling De Pijp district. It is accessible by Tramline 4 or Metro lines 51, 53, 54 to the Weesperplein stop. Its smoke free rooms come with free Wi-Fi, flatscreen TV, safebox and linens/amenities. A hearty breakfast buffet is served daily from 08:00 - 10:30 for 9.50 euro/person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing