We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad points-average overall” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #234 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
2 reviews
“Good and bad points-average overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

friendly staff, good service, great breakfast and clean room, however room was really small and cold could be heated better. would stay again for short stay though as good facilities for such a low price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    224
    173
    61
    71
See reviews for
74
326
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked this room as a special deal for just 30.00 a night. We weren't expecting much and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean, bathroom and sleeping area. Apart from a needed spruce up paint job, it was perfect. It was narrow but not too small, and very long plenty of room for getting ready etc. We had to check in at Hotel max, but it was literally a 60 second walk away. The supermarket Lidl is right outside and handy for buying snacks, and drinks. There are also vending machines in the hotel doorway. We were unable to work the tv due to the check in staff forgetting our remote, but this wasn't a problem for us. Great location for the zoo and museum quarter, although close to everything else also. Amazingly comfy bed, and really warm and toasty!! Would definitely stay here again - great price...

Room Tip: The narrow Green carpet room is downstairs... room 20 - Amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxyRibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you very much.
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Me and a friend stayed here for 5 nights.We weren't excepting anything great since it was a 2-star hotel but what we found was a great deception.The room and the bathroom seem young and new but the cleaning was very poor (not only the room was not vacuumed, we also found pieces of food under one of the beds),the linens were dirty,the bath towels had stains on them, the TV didn't worked and the heater was broken so it was either 30º degrees or to cold.We got sick because of the temperature juggles.The breakfast was okay, but nothing especial. Also we were staying in Iris Hotel and the reception is at Max Hotel (2m walk) but after 2 days we were told we also had to have breakfast at Max since Iris was going into remodelling. Overall i would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The room was avergae and was fine for us, it was clean and the bathroom was very clean as well.
If you don't like small rooms then do not stay at this hotel. We asked for a double bed but we got two singles. I don't think a double would have fit in there! The bathroom is very small as well and the tap leaked when all over the floor when you used it.
It's a little walk to the town but not to far. You also have to check in at hotel Max just across the bridge. Staff were very friendly.
The room was fine and was comfy to stay in apart from the single beds kept slipping apart! However you can get better quailty hotels for a much cheaper price we managed to stay in a lovely hotel with a double bed for much less.
This hotel purely serves the purpose of sleep and is fine for that but is not value for money!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is being renovated, and I have the feeling they split rooms in two. We had a broom closet sized room with two very narrow beds and a new bathroom. The tiles on the floor are the same as on the walls, so they are very slippery. There is no blocking for the shower water so the whole bathroom gets completely wet when you shower. Also we found quite a few hairs in the bathroom and on the floor of the room. The heating is turned on in the morning, and you can't control it. So you float sweating in your knotted sheets. When you have the sense to open the window, you are awake and can't get back to sleep from the noise in the streets. This hotel is ok to stay for one night for a short visit to Amsterdam but not for staying longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanneRoemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Guess I should have booked Hotel Max instead of Hotel Iris. Reasons are because the reception is right at Hotel Max and the Supermarket is right in front of Hotel Max. I guess alot of people has already mentioned the distance from Hotel Iris to Hotel Max just for the checking in. When I arrived at Hotel Iris and since I've emailed them my time of arriva, I expected their staff to be there. Instead, no one was around and luckily, one of the guests staying there who was smoking outside directed us to Hotel Max! The staircase are really~~~ steep and narrow..

The TV in my room is more than 2m, right above the door.. so it takes a basketball player to turn it on... Remember to get your TV controller for deposit of 20EURO!

Breakfast is simple, but nice...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dericcino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great location with easy walks to south canal area and museums , staff helpful and breakfast room now available. It is more of a hostel feel , old and rickety but ensuite was good. Room very narrow but I found the bed uncomfortable ....poorly sprung. view from room was good over the canal and houseboats etc and the Lidl shop opposite very useful

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#307 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#206 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#235 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#270 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#243 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Property: Iris Hotel
Address: Sarphatikade 17, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Iris is set in a typical Amsterdam building, just a 15-minute walk from Amsterdam's bustling De Pijp district. Its rooms come with free Wi-Fi. Bike rentals and luggage storage is available and breakfast is served daily. Oosteinde tram stop is a 3-minute walk away, and links to the Rijksmuseum and lively Leidse Square. Dam Square and Amsterdam Central Station are a short ride on tram 16, which stops at the Stadshouderskade, 5 minutes’ walk away. The simply furnished rooms at Hotel Iris come with a private bathroom and a flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing