We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room, not value for money”
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #274 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The room was avergae and was fine for us, it was clean and the bathroom was very clean as well.
If you don't like small rooms then do not stay at this hotel. We asked for a double bed but we got two singles. I don't think a double would have fit in there! The bathroom is very small as well and the tap leaked when all over the floor when you used it.
It's a little walk to the town but not to far. You also have to check in at hotel Max just across the bridge. Staff were very friendly.
The room was fine and was comfy to stay in apart from the single beds kept slipping apart! However you can get better quailty hotels for a much cheaper price we managed to stay in a lovely hotel with a double bed for much less.
This hotel purely serves the purpose of sleep and is fine for that but is not value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
There are newer reviews for Iris Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 739 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is being renovated, and I have the feeling they split rooms in two. We had a broom closet sized room with two very narrow beds and a new bathroom. The tiles on the floor are the same as on the walls, so they are very slippery. There is no blocking for the shower water so the whole bathroom gets completely wet when you shower. Also we found quite a few hairs in the bathroom and on the floor of the room. The heating is turned on in the morning, and you can't control it. So you float sweating in your knotted sheets. When you have the sense to open the window, you are awake and can't get back to sleep from the noise in the streets. This hotel is ok to stay for one night for a short visit to Amsterdam but not for staying longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanneRoemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Guess I should have booked Hotel Max instead of Hotel Iris. Reasons are because the reception is right at Hotel Max and the Supermarket is right in front of Hotel Max. I guess alot of people has already mentioned the distance from Hotel Iris to Hotel Max just for the checking in. When I arrived at Hotel Iris and since I've emailed them my time of arriva, I expected their staff to be there. Instead, no one was around and luckily, one of the guests staying there who was smoking outside directed us to Hotel Max! The staircase are really~~~ steep and narrow..

The TV in my room is more than 2m, right above the door.. so it takes a basketball player to turn it on... Remember to get your TV controller for deposit of 20EURO!

Breakfast is simple, but nice...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dericcino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great location with easy walks to south canal area and museums , staff helpful and breakfast room now available. It is more of a hostel feel , old and rickety but ensuite was good. Room very narrow but I found the bed uncomfortable ....poorly sprung. view from room was good over the canal and houseboats etc and the Lidl shop opposite very useful

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We liked the Iris hotel and we had a very nice view from the window, small room and many many steps to do, but good position (close to the bus n.4 and 15 min,walking to the city center), very clean and nice receptionist in Max Hotel.Good experience!

Room Tip: the reception is in another hotel, you have just to cross the river in front of and you'll find...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Viaggiare
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

We are grateful you gave us this review.

Come to visit us again. The best rates you get directly by the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Archil I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#314 of 371 in Amsterdam
263 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#226 of 371 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#304 of 371 in Amsterdam
480 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#150 of 371 in Amsterdam
399 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#267 of 371 in Amsterdam
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Address: Sarphatikade 17, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $81 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Iris is set in a typical Amsterdam canal house just a 5-minute walk from the bustling De Pijp district. It is accessible by Tramline 4 or Metro lines 51, 53, 54 to the Weesperplein stop. Its smoke free rooms come with free Wi-Fi, flatscreen TV, safebox and linens/amenities. A hearty breakfast buffet is served daily from 08:00 - 10:30 for 9.50 euro/person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing