We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like this hotel)”
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #264 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    238
    192
    85
    84
See reviews for
88
361
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our room was at 3rd floor and none of the staff helped us with our luggage. The stairs are really steep! The room was very spacious and very clean. The same about the bathroom. The breakfast wasn't something special but it was good! The tram station (for day) and the bus stop (for night) to the center is very close. The price was cheap for Amsterdam but very expensive compared Prague & Berlin that i was before in my trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipisermioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We are grateful you gave us this review.

Come to visit us again. The best rates you get directly by the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Ok, so the good things are: Place is clean, there's hot water in the showers, furniture are new and the wifi is quick. If you get a room facing the street you'll get a nice view on top of that. If that's all you're looking for and you feel that the price and location is ok, then look no further.

Having said that, I've stayed in hostels and hotels all over western, eastern, southern and northern Europe. This place is clearly a hostel. It's run by a group of young guys, however the reception is in a basement at a sister hotel called hotel Max about a block away. You have to pay a caution of 20 euros to receive the remote control to your room, so keep some cash handy when you're checking in. You also have to sign a document stating that you'll be paying 350 euros if you trigger the fire alarm (but rest assured, if the fire alarm is triggered at 2 am because the staff has left the dish washer running in the basement all night, you in turn won't even receive as much as an apology).

The bad things about this hotel are:
1: The rooms are not rooms, they are shoe boxes. I'm European, I can handle small rooms, but sharing a room this size quickly drains your energies. There was one small wardrobe in our shoe box room, inside it were two (!) clothes hangers, made to service two people. In other words, you'll soon be painted into a corner by your own belongings. Now I know that Amsterdam is famous for it's small rooms, but this once small room had been made into three shoe box "double rooms", and that is simply greedy.

2: This is a no frills "hotel", so if you're expecting basic things like toilet paper, functioning light fixtures or even soap then you're not in the right place. And you will always, always, always be looking desperately for a place to put, let's say the shower cream you were forced to buy at a close by super market to able to take a shower. Or the toilet paper you were forced to buy as none was being supplied to you for days on end.

3. Paper thin walls. Many reviewers have pointed this out before, I'll put it to you like this: If you didn't already know, Amsterdam is a party town, but don't worry, the other guest will let you know when they come barging in at 3:30 in the morning.

4: The breakfast consists of toast, juice and jam. EVERY morning I was greeted by two slices of cheese bathing in their own sweat. As there are not cafés close to the hotel, you're stuck with what they serve you.

5. The all male cleaning staff team will open your door and enter your room even after telling them 3 times that their services are not needed. So dress for the occasion, since they will also leave the door open when they exit and vanish.

6. This hotel is a work in progress, there is reconstruction going on several floors and the drilling starts promptly in the morning, so try and get as much sleep as you can in the allotted time given to you between fire alarms, late night guests crashing through the corridors and the morning construction workers.

All in all I'd say that if I was mentally prepared for a hostel stay I'd give this place a 4 out of 5, easy. An hotel however, this is not. Just change the name to Hostel Iris and all will be much improved.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingNormands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

pros-

clean rooms and fresh towels and linen everyday

good location to the centre of town

Breakfast- basic food but ok for price of stay

Wi-Fi, limited sky TV

Cons-

The NOISE was terrible. Paper thin walls and no sound proofing meant you could hear other rooms’ conversations, movements, light switches being turned on/off etc. Don’t expect a good sleep.

Though the staff were friendly enough no effort was made to replace toiletries like toilet roll, hand soap etc, and no effort was made to fix the broken safe in our room after we asked the staff to fix it.

The general quality of the rooms felt like the hotel always went for the cheapest option rather than the one that would increase customer comfort. For example the beds were uncomfortable, pillows rubbish.

Overall-

While some mod cons like the breakfast and TV were nice touches it did feel like these were to detract from the low quality beds and noisy rooms. I’ve previously stayed in the flying pig hostel and had a better night’s sleep in a similar standard of room for a much cheaper price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mplondon1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I haven't enjoyed my staying at this hotel.
staying in the bedroom felt like living in a wardrobe, besides the walls are thin and you don't get a good sleep.
the toilets that you share with other people are not daily refilled of toilet paper, furthermore these are not furnished of hair dryer. during our staying one of the 2 toilets in common had no lightbulb, so it was basically out of service because it was dark.
we found out when we've arrived that you're supposed to check in a different hotel, which is Max Hotel on the other side of the river, not a practical thing if you have to go around with your luggages.
I didn't liked the breakfast neither, cheap food and bad service.
at last, one night it even happened that the fire alarm started to sound around 2 am because of the steam coming out of somebody's shower. we had to buzz the other hotel through the intercom to ask to shut it off, because the alarm system was not connected to the Max Hotel.
what's good is the position of the hotel, well serviced by tram and metro and the internet connection, it was always fast and well functioning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italian-lilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#313 of 368 in Amsterdam
261 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#149 of 368 in Amsterdam
397 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#300 of 368 in Amsterdam
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#305 of 368 in Amsterdam
373 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#107 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Property: Iris Hotel
Address: Sarphatikade 17, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Iris is set in a typical Amsterdam building, just a 15-minute walk from Amsterdam's bustling De Pijp district. Its rooms come with free Wi-Fi. Bike rentals and luggage storage is available and breakfast is served daily. Oosteinde tram stop is a 3-minute walk away, and links to the Rijksmuseum and lively Leidse Square. Dam Square and Amsterdam Central Station are a short ride on tram 16, which stops at the Stadshouderskade, 5 minutes’ walk away. The simply furnished rooms at Hotel Iris come with a private bathroom and a flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing