We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bunk beds??”
Review of Vivaldi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vivaldi Hotel
Ranked #288 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 27, 2011

So we got here after having to book this place after a mix up with dates in the hotel we were supposed to be staying at. Major stress. We only stayed here 1 night and i'm glad as it's not the nicest place! Some of the reviews say it's like a dorm- it's true, there are bunk beds in the rooms and you can't really pass it off as a hotel, it's like a basic hostel. but as I said we only stayed here for one night; the showers were hot, there was breakfast included, and we only used it as a base to sleep and we were so tired we would have had good "sleep quality" more or less anywhere. I will say that you can get better places for the same price, and minus bunk beds; like the amsterdam downtown hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hlittle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Vivaldi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 337 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2010

had concerns with this hotel about the size and security of the rooms. there was no need for me to be worried. i have paid more to stay in smaller rooms in this area. the rooms arent huge but they are big enough!

we were moved to the sister hotel although we'd booked the vivaldi (actually the card had been refused but the hotel told easytobook.com and somepone failed to tell us, so we didnt even really have a room but they gave us one at the same price, not many hotels would do that)

you get an electric key card for your room which logs whoever enters. so items are fine in the room, i left my netbook in there all week and didnt worry one bit. the wifif connection was free and working which was great.

the few bad points...im sure the beds were itchy...either not very good sheets or bed bugs. but if your not doin much sleeping it shouldnt be an issue. the breakfast is limited but as long as your ok with cereal for breakfast you can make sandwhichs for lunch :) they should get a toaster though....

main issue that i didnt find a mention of when booking.... this hotel(s) is NON SMOKING and they will charge if an alarm goes off. we smoked out the window all week and we could smell smoke from every room in the hotel but its still not the same as knowing your allowed to. the hotel never replyed to me before the stay either so next time i will call my hotel and check ahead of my trip.

so to conclude, this hotel do some things really well and fail on others. either way its a cheap room in a great location. ignore these reviews and try it for a night, see what you think!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigfattyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

don't make a reservation because to not have a big surprize! they crash your money in your account in advance, don't respect booking conditions. !!!! smaller rooms, not clean at all !!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andalutzya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Terrible disappointment-don't go here! Looks dirty! Our first surprise when we opened the door to our room-it only half opened because the door hit the edge of the second bed in the room.(that's how small the room is!) Then the bathroom is in what used to be a closet i imagine, so it's tiny and you don't have any closet space. We had a window in our room so i thought this would help but it was a view of the hall stairs! All night we heard people coming and going. i could barely touch the breakfast-everything looked dirty and not fresh. I've travelled a lot all over the world, i've stayed in hostels that were a thousand times better then this place so i think it's extremely overpriced-maybe 30 USD/ night would be fair....

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reisenden46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

This hotel has recieved some horrid reviews, I booked this hotel as it was cheap, included breakfast and was in a great location.

I found this hotel nearly perfect for my stay with friends in the city of Amsterdam. The stairs; yes they were steep... very steep, but so are most stairs in amsterdam. The breakfast was basic, but sufficient. The location was EXCELLENT, right next to a delightful pub, next to the Heinekeen brewery, 20 mins walk from the main centre and 5 mins from the museumplain.

The price was excellent (a private en-suite room for 4 nights for 4 people was 109 Euro each). The room was a tad cramped... but I didnt really go to amsterdam to spend 4 days in my room!

The only downside about this hotel was the heat, we couldnt open our window more than 3 inches and it was 30c heat and about 20c at night with no air con, so it was very hot.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
1. great location
2. cheap
3. breakfast included
4. comfortable beds

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan_meyrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed in the Vivaldi Hotel in Amsterdam. The room was in the basement and very cramped. There was no space between the twin-beds and the walls. Our view from the bedroom window was of a busy road intersection and people's feet. There was a draft from the window and no double glazing to deaden the traffic noise.
The staff were not very helpful and the breakfasts were not up to standard to a 2* hotel.
As we were in the basement, the stairs were very steep with no bannister. We're not elderly, but these stairs were dangerous, especially as the stair carpet was somewhat threadbare.
yours Jane.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Whatever you do, DO NOT stay here!
Now I can handle average places, but this place, along with it's sister hotel the Paganini was DISGUSTING! We turned up at the reception (which was Vivaldi) and they told us we were staying in their sister hotel two doors up the Paganini. So we hicked over there and just the hallway was disgusting. The hallway just stunk of cigarette smoke and mould, the carpet was filthy and the wood rotting). The room was TINY (which we were expecting) and so run down. The walls were all scuffed and marked, but the bed looked clean, but it was incredibly soft and squishy (not the good kind).
And then there was the bathroom... it was DISGUSTING! It smelt like faeces (there was no ventilation in the bathroom), the toilet bowl was brown and the shower grouting was covered in mould.
The next day we went and complained that it was disgusting and that we had booked in to Vivaldi, not paganini and demanded to be moved. Apparently another man wanted to move rooms as well (tells you something) and he could give us their room. They showed us the room, which shocked me, as the current resident was not staying there and they accessed the room without their permission. But the room had two single beds pushed together, and was right next to the reception room, but they couldn't guarentee when the resident would be back so didn't know when we could change.
They then offered us a different room in the basement (tiny steep staircase) which also had two single beds pushed together, and was slightly cleaner. We said we wanted a double bed, but they said as we didn't request a double bed they couldn't give us one. We asked to speak to the manager, and as many of the other reviews say, they said they were unavailable. The hotels are run by asians and when we were complaining another one came out and they started talking in another language in front of us about us. I have a feeling the one who didn't speak english was the boss.
So we settled as it was slightly cleaner. The bathroom still smelt (again, not ventiliation) shower still had some mould, and the basin was dirty. The only good thing about the room was that it had a tv and a good radiator.
We didn't feel secure leaving our stuff in our room, so we padlocked it all while we were gone.
One day we went out and came back and our room door was open, for how long we don't know. Luckily we had locked everything up.
Luckily we were in Amsterdam which made it a little less stressful, but I was very happy to leave, which put a very big damper on our holiday. The breakfast was average; bread, ham and cheese (not toaster), juice, tea and coffee and some cereal. So we made sandwiches for lunches.
Basically... do not stay here. I would spend more money and stay somewhere else.
The only good thing is that it was close to a lovely, friendly cafe (Mellow Yellow) and right next to the Heineken factory.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ezekielette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#274 of 337 in Amsterdam
110 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#94 of 337 in Amsterdam
255 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#28 of 337 in Amsterdam
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
#73 of 337 in Amsterdam
42 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#75 of 337 in Amsterdam
405 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#31 of 337 in Amsterdam
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivaldi Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade 76, 1072 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $84 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vivaldi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing