We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivaldi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vivaldi Hotel
Ranked #285 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Montreal
2 reviews
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good:Helpful staff, good location, our room had a nice view of a canal.
Not so good: The bed was not comfortable at all, some of the towels had stains on them. We had a bathroom and shower in the room, but for a couple of days the sewage smell was intolerable. At our last day the smell was somewhat gone. The wifi was only available at the main lobby which was in another building , about 4 buildings away from where our room was.
Over all: For the money we paid it was an OK deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Meghedi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    34
    64
    58
    151
See reviews for
22
91
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

In 6 years of traveling this is the worst Hotel I have stayed at. Could write an essay on the issues we had, however I will just list a couple:

- Covered in bed bugs. Literally 40-50 bed bugs running around on our bed
- Lobby filled with the smell of urine and feces
- Spent 2.5 days trying to clean our clothing and bags to rid ourselves of bed bugs and eggs.
- Staff was rude and not very helpful

People stay here and are happy with it, however i warn that you increase your chances of not enjoying Amsterdam.

My wishes with this review are just to protect fellow travelers like my wife and I.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Ben V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

kent, united kingdon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

i know you get what you pay for but there are limits, the room was on top floor tiny with 2 single beds pushed together, found it smelt musty, carpet dirty, the window didnt have draw curtains, only one towel provided for 2 people, staff didnt seem very friendly. i wouldnt recommend this hotel & wouldnt stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank karen413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had a party to go to in Amsterdam. Since it's a 3 hour drive from home, i wanted to book a cheap room to get a couple of hours sleep before driving back home. Since i just needed a bed and a bathroom, i just choose the cheapest hotel i could find.

I booked with booking.com and everything seemed okay. Then, about two weeks after i've made the booking, i received an email from booking.com saying that the hotel had notified them that my creditcard details were invalid. Thinking that it could be that i accidently changed a number when typing my details, i gave my credit card details again. Again, a couple of hours later, i received a mail saying they were still wrong. I checked again, and they were correct. I let a friend check them before submittinig, to be doulby sure. So i submitted them for the 3th time. Again, later that day, en email claiming they were incorrect. Fed up at that point, i emailed the hotel directly asking them a clarification. My details were correct. They never responded. Thinking that they had reviewed my details and came to the conclussion that they were correct, i assumed everything was okay. Untill this morning. I received an email saying they had canceled my bookinig because my creditcard details were wrong. I've had enough, in a whole week they did not have the change to respond to my email at all, but they just cancelled my booking? If they are this incompetent in making a bookinig, i dred to imagine how a stay would have been. Maybe this cancellation was a blessing in disguise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelgianTraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Booked 2 rooms of 6 on the Easter weekend with friends.

When arriving, we also had the "Wait for 10 minutes in the lounge, we changing shift" line, even before I had the chance to say Hello and mention I only needed my friends' room number as they already had arrived. It wasn't like we arrived at 2 ou 4am in the morning, but it appears an unusual thing for the staff that customers check-in in a European capital city hotel on a saturday afternoon.

Then, you need to take the stairs, which steps are very steep and narrow (each step is something like 30 cm and 15cm wide, though I can understand management cannot do much about that), so you'd better be fit to get to your room.

When getting in the room, there are 6 beds indeed, in a room that usually fits a double bed in any other hotel. Having had the privilege to have a balcony to enjoy the view of the city, we noted it was literally covered with pigeons excrement, along with an abandoned wooden chair (itself also covered with excrement) which is absolutely disgusting!!!

When it comes to sleeping, the beds have mattresses which are very old or of very poor quality (or both) and also strange smells probably coming from some pipes which can be disturbing.

And the cherry on the cake will be the price: 600 euros for two nights!!

If I absolutely need to bring myself to put positive points:
* location is ok (central/tourist places are from a walking distance)
* free wi-fi does work (although with a ridiculously long key/code to remember)
* you are very pleased and relieved after checking out

To avoid at any cost unless it's in connection with a (pricey) joke with your friends or because you try to have your partner breakup with you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank batedeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#301 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#210 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
De Pijp
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#268 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#124 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#28 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Vita Nova
Vita Nova
#113 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivaldi Hotel

Property: Vivaldi Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 76, 1072 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vivaldi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing