We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Italian food at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pianeta Terra

Pianeta Terra
Ranked #198 of 3,334 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $52 - $79
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Pianeta Terra takes another step forward on its course towards natural cuisine.For fifteen years, Pianeta Terra Amsterdam has combined delicious organic food with innovative Italian cuisine to deliver a truly fantastic dining experience. Now, Pianeta Terra plans to take this recipe for success one step further on the path of fresh and exciting fare. We introduce a new approach to our cuisine as we work in total harmony with the cycles of Mother Earth. Our usual creativity and attention to pureness will be further enhanced by our desire to use only the freshest, seasonal produce available. Updated daily, the new menu will reflect our 'moment in time' concept. This will be achieved by using ingredients that are at their prime at the given time of the year, with special attention being paid to organic meat, vegetables, and ethical fish. Combine this with our innovative techniques of preparation, and your visit to Pianeta Terra is guaranteed to be an unforgettable experience.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Italian food at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We were truly impressed. Every detail counted. To start, we were given helpful suggestions to match our mood with the selection for the day, because the menu changes according to the produce in season. Next, not only the dishes looked appetizing, they tasted great. They also have a good selection of wines, even the low tannin ones. Finally, the ambiance was truly welcoming, and we also had the pleasure of meeting the chef. We look forward to going back on out next trip to Amsterdam.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alba A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pianeta_terra_adam, Owner at Pianeta Terra, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    40
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Thoughtful and very attentive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were here on our anniversary, no reservations but welcomed by very friendly staff who turned out to be attentive and knowledgeable as well. Most if not all ingredients the chef uses are organic and regionally sourced, ask the waiter the details and he'll tall you something about everything that's on your plate. The dishes are all made with attention and love for cooking. The place is cosy, a somewhat unexpected 3-split-level historic house, but nice and nicely decorated. We will come back here for sure. Expect a 150 euro bill for two including wine and aperitivo, which absolutely is value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rogiervanderheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Delicious, Gracious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We made reservations at the last minute because we had just arrived in Amsterdam, and didn't really know where to go. We lucked out - an excellent restaurant, close to our hotel, with great food and attentive wait staff. My partner's scorpion fish was excellent as was my duck with plum sauce, and the molten chocolate cake for dessert was "to die for." Everyone spoke not only English, but (seemingly) every language under the sun; they were gracious about my imperfect Dutch; and the bill was less than expected for the quality of cuisine and service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanoSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Had an amazing meal there. We recommend the Surprise menu where they offer you 6 different dishes that they come to explain to you. They also have a wide selection of organic wines. It is one of the best meals I had in a long, long, time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Italian with friendly service and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The food was excellent. We shared an appetizer and then I had the best asparragus risotto I have ever tasted; full of rich taste with perfect texture. Then I had beef rolled in Lardo, which was the most tasting beef I have had for a ling time. Highly recommnded!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lagaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pianeta Terra also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pianeta Terra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing