We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly amazing Italian slow food”
Review of Pianeta Terra

Pianeta Terra
Reserve with
Pianeta Terra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #154 of 3,813 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $63
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Pianeta Terra takes another step forward on its course towards natural cuisine.For fifteen years, Pianeta Terra Amsterdam has combined delicious organic food with innovative Italian cuisine to deliver a truly fantastic dining experience. Now, Pianeta Terra plans to take this recipe for success one step further on the path of fresh and exciting fare. We introduce a new approach to our cuisine as we work in total harmony with the cycles of Mother Earth. Our usual creativity and attention to pureness will be further enhanced by our desire to use only the freshest, seasonal produce available. Updated daily, the new menu will reflect our 'moment in time' concept. This will be achieved by using ingredients that are at their prime at the given time of the year, with special attention being paid to organic meat, vegetables, and ethical fish. Combine this with our innovative techniques of preparation, and your visit to Pianeta Terra is guaranteed to be an unforgettable experience.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Truly amazing Italian slow food”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This restaurant is one of the few in Amsterdam to offer the 'true thing' when it comes to contemporary Italian food at its best. The ingredients are the genuine thing, peppers taste of peppers, tomatoes taste of tomatoes, and the cooking is inventive, elegant but simple. Italian at its highest - and ticking all the right 'slow food' / 'organic' boxes too, without being dogmatic. A good wine list, at the right prices for Amsterdam, complements the evening. You must try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frame82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    50
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian Food With A Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This restaurant on a sidestreet by the flower market is run by Italians featuring traditional style dishes. To be honest its pretty good for Italian food outside of Italy. The Dishes are varied and the food tasty but the entrees were a little on the small side and my main course (pollock) was dry. The service was friendly but utilitarian and the wine quite pricey. The pastas were wonderful though, freshly made and mouth wateringly good.

As with most restaurants in the city it is fairly small and stairs leading to the upper floor quite steep. On the wall is the most marvellous mirror surrounded by artworks of cartoon characters.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelina8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“High quality genuine Italian cuisine”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Small, comfortable restaurant in a quiet side street, run by Italians and serving a high quality four course Italian menu. Friendly service and excellent wine menu.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Der_Reisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
569 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Absolutely sublime”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

After a recent night out in A'dam eating horrible Indonesian food it was a relief to be taken somewhere really lovely. Pianeta Terra sits on a quiet side street just off the Herrengracht canal in an old traditional house. The restaurant is laid out over 3 levels (if you have mobility issues - please tell them when booking) and serves organic, sustainable, seriously 'right on' food in Italian style. It looks expensive but we were surprised how reasonable it is.

The menu changes daily. 3 courses start at €37,50, 4 at €43, 50 and 5 at €49.50.

We went on a 'slow' Tuesday night and only two other tables were occupied which was a big surprise. Food quality was exceptional, presentation was beautiful and the small menu (three options in each of antipasti, primi, secondi plus 2 desserts and cheese) meant we were sure everything was really fresh. My marlin tartare was beautifully presented but my risotto with truffel was poor and disappointing. The red bass fillet with courgettes and tomato was a large portion beautifully cooked.

Service was quite slow - clearly everything was being made to order. We didn't go hungry as they entertained us with baskets of delicious bread, olive oil for dipping and titchy little amuse bouche dishes. For colleagues who chose to skip courses, they brought 'a little something' for each person whilst everyone else was eating.

Very nicely done indeed

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Koshkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pianeta Terra also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pianeta Terra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing