We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont pre book the free walking tour”

SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Amsterdam
Ranked #41 of 505 Tours in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Offering a free tour of Amsterdam twice a day, the world-famous FREE TOUR is now in Amsterdam. Meet us in front of the National Monument in Dam Square, every day at 10am, 11am and 2pm.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had an excellent tour in the middle of a very cold November day. As previously stated the tour is not really free as the guide is dependant upon tips for their pay, so dont pre book as your 3 euros is not paying for the tour and does not go to the guide, just turn up at Dam Square and tip generously at the end of your tour.
After saying that it is certainly a very worthwhile tour to take at the start of your time in Amsterdam. You get more than just a trip around the main sights, you get a really honest insight into life in this facinating city with many usful tips and hints about how to make the most of your visit.

Date of experience: November 2012
6  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreaatsandemans, Leiter Front Office at SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

The Free Tour is tips-based as usual. For all online pre-bookings in Amsterdam, customers get asked for a €3 per person booking fee to cover the costs involved in running the online reservation system. Great that you enjoyed the tour. Thank you for the high rating. Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16,569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"free tour"
in 760 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 711 reviews
"walking tour"
in 967 reviews
"great tour"
in 703 reviews
"the red light district"
in 815 reviews
"free walking"
in 119 reviews
"three hours"
in 190 reviews
"hour tour"
in 168 reviews
"great introduction"
in 76 reviews
"your bearings"
in 77 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 75 reviews
"dam square"
in 237 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 89 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 95 reviews
"anne frank house"
in 93 reviews
"kor"
in 453 reviews
"lisa"
in 367 reviews
Filter

6,345 - 6,349 of 16,569 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our guide, Angel, was very knowledgeable and passionate about Amsterdam. He had great insight, and did a great job. Go with him after for the soup, it really is the best you will have!

Date of experience: November 2012
Thank FabricHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreaatsandemans, Front Office Manager at SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

We're sure the guide will be glad about this good rating and we will forward this review to Angel. Hope to see you back on more tours. Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We did a private walking tour with a wonderful gentleman called Rob. The tour takes you round the city in 3 hours and shows you all the famous and varied aspects of Amsterdam. The private tour does have a fee, however it was very well worth the money as it is much more personal and you feel like you are being taken round the city by a friend, that you have come to visit. Rob was fantastic, he is both knowledgeable and entertaining and has a deep love of the city that is very clear in the way he talks about it. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he even got us some free samples from the cheese shop! I would definately highly recommend this tour, and if you are doing it at the weekend ask for Rob!

Date of experience: November 2012
Thank EnniskillenJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreaatsandemans, Front Office Manager at SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

We're very glad about this review and we thank you very much for posting it. We would like to welcome more people to join their own Private tour, it's more personal than the public ones. Great that you gave the guide this high rating. Best and hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Did the free tour at 11am with Maddie and found it to be a great introduction to Amsterdam. Have done numerous Sandemans tours around Europe but this was one of the best in terms of amount discovered, areas covered and general good times had. It was Halloween and Maddie came dressed up as a kitty kat (I think!) ensuring a very good time right from the start and the little cheese tasting at the end rounded it up very nicely. Do this first so you get a very good idea about the city and its layout.

Date of experience: October 2012
Thank chrysalis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreaatsandemans, Front Office Manager at SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

It's certainly nice to hear that you had an informative introduction to Amsterdam. Great to reat this review and thank you very much for this high rating. See you soon again. Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Always use Sandemans the first day in anew city to get a great overview. Mark did an excellent job pointing out Amsterdam's highlights. My criticism is the about the pub where Sandemans does their business after the tour. Cafe Sonneveld is a huge rip off. They charge 8E for a .5l of beer and 2.5E for tap water! We were on the free tour so that should tell Sandemans what type of place we were looking for.
Do the tour avoid the pit at the end or if you go for info DO NOT ORDER here!

Date of experience: November 2012
1  Thank WaywardTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_P_SNE, Manager at SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear WaywardTravelor,

I would like to thank you for posting your review about your experience with SANDEMANs NEW Amsterdam Tours. I'm Alex Piccone, Regional Director of Operations. We take your review very seriously as per your status of Top Contributor and based on the fact you’ve been to our other tours in cities like Munich. I’m glad you had a great time on our tour, but I must say I am surprised by your negative experience with Café Sonneveld. I sent you a private message about 13 days ago and unfortunately I haven't received your response yet.

We have been working in collaboration with Café Sonneveld for quite some time, and this is the first occasion we have unfavorable feedback. We feel that Café Sonneveld offers a typical Dutch experience, while offering a menu specifically catered for our guests with discounted prices without neglecting the quality of the products or the service offered by this family run restaurant.

Please understand as well that the freelance guides we work in collaboration with are suggesting Café Sonneveld because they truly believe it is a lovely experience for travelers visiting Amsterdam. We have recently double checked this information with them and with some of our clients and we were confirmed that Café Sonneveld doesn't charge for tap water and the average price of a pint of beer (Heineken) is €5 and special beers like "La Chouffe" or "Super Bock" cost about €8.

I hope this experience hasn’t spoiled your view of our tours, and that you continue to discover Europe, and the Middle East with SANEMANs NEW Europe Tours. Please let me know if there’s anything else you didn’’t like about this place or your visit, if there’s anything I can help out with, please let us know and don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards,

Alex Piccone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing