We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their tours are ALWAYS great.”

SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Amsterdam
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.76*
and up
Alternative Amsterdam Walking Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Their tours are ALWAYS great.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our guide, Angel, was very knowledgeable and passionate about Amsterdam. He had great insight, and did a great job. Go with him after for the soup, it really is the best you will have!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank FabricHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreaatsandemans, Front Office Manager at SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We're sure the guide will be glad about this good rating and we will forward this review to Angel. Hope to see you back on more tours. Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,485
    1,238
    223
    99
    90
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fermanagh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We did a private walking tour with a wonderful gentleman called Rob. The tour takes you round the city in 3 hours and shows you all the famous and varied aspects of Amsterdam. The private tour does have a fee, however it was very well worth the money as it is much more personal and you feel like you are being taken round the city by a friend, that you have come to visit. Rob was fantastic, he is both knowledgeable and entertaining and has a deep love of the city that is very clear in the way he talks about it. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he even got us some free samples from the cheese shop! I would definately highly recommend this tour, and if you are doing it at the weekend ask for Rob!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EnniskillenJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreaatsandemans, Front Office Manager at SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We're very glad about this review and we thank you very much for posting it. We would like to welcome more people to join their own Private tour, it's more personal than the public ones. Great that you gave the guide this high rating. Best and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Do this first.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Did the free tour at 11am with Maddie and found it to be a great introduction to Amsterdam. Have done numerous Sandemans tours around Europe but this was one of the best in terms of amount discovered, areas covered and general good times had. It was Halloween and Maddie came dressed up as a kitty kat (I think!) ensuring a very good time right from the start and the little cheese tasting at the end rounded it up very nicely. Do this first so you get a very good idea about the city and its layout.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrysalis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreaatsandemans, Front Office Manager at SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
It's certainly nice to hear that you had an informative introduction to Amsterdam. Great to reat this review and thank you very much for this high rating. See you soon again. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuttgart
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Amsterdam Intro! but watch out for the end.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Always use Sandemans the first day in anew city to get a great overview. Mark did an excellent job pointing out Amsterdam's highlights. My criticism is the about the pub where Sandemans does their business after the tour. Cafe Sonneveld is a huge rip off. They charge 8E for a .5l of beer and 2.5E for tap water! We were on the free tour so that should tell Sandemans what type of place we were looking for.
Do the tour avoid the pit at the end or if you go for info DO NOT ORDER here!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WaywardTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_P_SNE, Manager at SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear WaywardTravelor,

I would like to thank you for posting your review about your experience with SANDEMANs NEW Amsterdam Tours. I'm Alex Piccone, Regional Director of Operations. We take your review very seriously as per your status of Top Contributor and based on the fact you’ve been to our other tours in cities like Munich. I’m glad you had a great time on our tour, but I must say I am surprised by your negative experience with Café Sonneveld. I sent you a private message about 13 days ago and unfortunately I haven't received your response yet.

We have been working in collaboration with Café Sonneveld for quite some time, and this is the first occasion we have unfavorable feedback. We feel that Café Sonneveld offers a typical Dutch experience, while offering a menu specifically catered for our guests with discounted prices without neglecting the quality of the products or the service offered by this family run restaurant.

Please understand as well that the freelance guides we work in collaboration with are suggesting Café Sonneveld because they truly believe it is a lovely experience for travelers visiting Amsterdam. We have recently double checked this information with them and with some of our clients and we were confirmed that Café Sonneveld doesn't charge for tap water and the average price of a pint of beer (Heineken) is €5 and special beers like "La Chouffe" or "Super Bock" cost about €8.

I hope this experience hasn’t spoiled your view of our tours, and that you continue to discover Europe, and the Middle East with SANEMANs NEW Europe Tours. Please let me know if there’s anything else you didn’’t like about this place or your visit, if there’s anything I can help out with, please let us know and don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards,

Alex Piccone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“FREETOURS one of the best experiences!!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

With Javi, Xavi, and Carlos were so COOL!Very nice stories and explanations!I hardly recommend it!!! Specially with them if you speak spanish!! Reaaallly really nice...

Se paga lo que se crea conveniente dependiendo de lo que te haya gustado el tour...pero tampoco hay que ser ratilla eh!! Se lo trabajan mucho, que todo sea dicho.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alazneitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreaatsandemans, Front Office Manager at SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your review about all the guides of the tours you attended. Hopefully we see you soon again on more tours. Good luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing