We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy cakes”

De taart van m'n tante
Ranked #46 of 106 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yummy cakes”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

In pleasant and original ambient with sympathetic staff we enjoyed delicious cakes.
We tried out several different cakes and all of them were fresh, tasty and nicely decorated. Keep in mind that prices are fairly high.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slaven6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    99
    35
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A taste of old England”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for cake it was amazing.

A quirky cake shop with lots of outside space.

The cake choice was good and they tasted divine.

Service was good and prompt, try to avoid Sundays as looked very very busy

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charming atmosphere, but accustomed to better”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This is a quaint and charming place for tea and desserts. The decor is funky and original and there is much to look at and take in. The desserts, however, are mediocre at best. I have no doubt the bakers are creative and talented, but as a dessert and sweet aficionado, I am used to baking at a slightly higher quality. Perhaps it's the difference in altitude and/or ingredients so I offer my feedback with a qualifier. Still worth checking out if only for the experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank justkaijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful cakes, designed like a candy store”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Cakes are Delicious and fluffy, with a fantastic design. Place very welcoming, you feel like a child again, and simply want to eat everything.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liran84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A perfect, pop break while visiting Stadsdeel Zuid”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you intend to walk in the streets of Stadsdeel Zuid, don't miss De taart van m'n tante, their cakes are delicious (though huge and rich, beware; I simply couldn't have dinner after that cake...) and the atmosphere pop, light and cheerful!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OlgaMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De taart van m'n tante also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De taart van m'n tante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing