We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I love sticking cakes into my face!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De taart van m'n tante

De taart van m'n tante
Ranked #14 of 42 Bakeries in Amsterdam
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love sticking cakes into my face!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic selection of cakes in this quirky cake shop in De Pijp. Service could probably do with being a bit quicker/better, but apart from that tip top.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    85
    29
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfectly kitsch; great cake; slightly overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The cake was great! I had the carrot cake and loved it very much. It was moist and delicious. The cappuccino was good too. The atmosphere is like an old woman's home with dusty fake flowers and mismatched furniture. I thought the prices were a bit high for the atmosphere. I expected them to be less but tasting the cake, you can taste that they are high quality and that is what you are paying for. Since I have sneezing spells from dust, this type of place makes me nervous but it was very good. I would return for the carrot cake but may take it to go...good experience overall.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrownBeauty0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at home
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a very quirky furnished pastry shop with great cakes and a good coffee. The cakes are fantastic and it is hard to decided which one to choose. We would have loved to try them all.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Milmiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A place victim of its success”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Too much people, nobody to drive you to a table. Coach destroyed. Good cakes but over priced. Better to go to another small cake shop and there are a lot in Amsterdam.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Khoi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Interesting cakes, so-so ambience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

As we were in the area (just been shopping in nearby Albert Cuyp Market) and has heard of this "must see" camp and kitsch cafe, we popped in for a coffee and cake.

Have to admit that the selection of cakes on the menu was interesting, even amusing, although there seemed to be a lack of variety when it came to ordering. Two selected were gone and one of those we did get was the last piece (not the freshest).

Service was perfunctory, but maybe being there when it was 3/4 empty wasn't conducive to atmosphere and staff motivation.

Not convinced about how clean it was either - sticky tablecover, etc.

However, for a quirky little example of the sort of places Amsterdam offers, worth a look if you are passing by.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bearclyff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De taart van m'n tante also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De taart van m'n tante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing