We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and outlook”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights in a Canal View Suite at the Tulipa in early June. We found the location and outlook over the canal to be perfect, and away from less desirable and tourist aspects of Amsterdam central, but still within walking distance. The suite was spacious with comfortable lounges, and with a small balcony on which we spent a lot of time watching the interesting partying on the canals. The room and location was worth the steep stairs, which we became accustomed to after the 2 days. The hosts were very hospitable, friendly and provided good recommendations for restaurants, shops and walks, as well as carrying all our luggage up the stairs. Breakfast was excellent with a variety of home cooked hot dishes. Will definitely stay again if in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Choose Suite with Canal view if able to climb number of steep stairs without difficulty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Novocastrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 205 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at the Tulipa in June for 4 nights. I booked based on the reviews on TA but did wonder of the service and location would live up to them .
It did, the hosts were very friendly and eager to give us knowledge and info about the area, where to go and recommended restaraunts .
We styled in a large double room with a small balcony overlooking two canals and a road.
We didn't think we would use this much but after a day of walking we spent the evenings sat on the balcony watching the activity and boats on the canals and were fascinated watching the hundreds of bikes go past , barely missing each other.it was mesmerising . The bed was one of the comfiest I have slept in.
Breakfasts truly are wonderful with a different hot meal a very morning. My favourite was the cheese omelette .
The area was perfect for us being able to get to all places easily but not in "tourist Central"
We hope to return.

Room Tip: Canal view with balcony was great. I think all rooms would be good though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzywillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This place is amazing. I stayed in the Garden Apartment with a buddy for a couple of nights and we would both reccomend it. Amazing location being just two mins from Leidsplein, huge rooms with plenty of place to sit and lounge, fantastic greeting from the hosts who were knowledgable, welcoming and friendly without being in your space.

If I had to justify why I didnt give it 100%, the niggles are that there is no toilet in the main bathroom (which is actually attached to a bedroom and has plenty of space to install a toilet) and the huge bed in the far room is two singles together so you occassionally feel yourself slip in the middle join.

That's just minor though - overall, this place is brilliant and it's much better value than you'd get in most places in the centre of Dam for four people.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sukhysingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Tulipa in the Suite - Canal View for four nights in April. It was the ideal location and perfect to walk to everything. That is what makes Amsterdam so great is that you can wind through any of the canals and Tulipa was never far away!

Our suite spanned two floors but even before getting to the living room / bedroom area, we had to climb about 50 steep / narrow steps. The living / dining / bedroom were extremely large and spacious for two people. There was a set of doors that opened to the garden area and another set of doors to a small balcony overlooking the canal. As much as I wanted the room overlooking the canal - it ended up not being a big deal once we got there. The canals are everywhere!

Our bathroom was about 30 steep / narrow steps up from the living room. There was a separate water closet (which was extremely small and claustrophobic) from the sink / shower / tub area. In my opinion that was a little poorly designed, but possibly, the toilet was enclosed in the bathroom but then they moved it when the put in a shower?

The breakfast each morning was excellent, but did not start until 8:30 am...which for us (who are very early risers) was a bit of an adjustment. They provided not only cereal / fresh fruit / bread / cheeses, but then they always had a hot homemade item. You were definitely stuffed by the end of the meal!

While the Hotel Shuttle from the airport does not stop directly at Tulipa - it does stop two buildings down and was a quick walk. The 197 bus was also a block from the hotel - though if you have big suitcases, I don't recommend taking the 197 to the airport.

I would definitely stay at Tulipa again if I was in Amsterdam - I just might not stay in the suite. Very reasonably priced for the size of the room - just a bit too much for two people.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Lovely room with canal view and right in the centre. Easy to get to from the airport. Wonderful hosts - we felt like house guests of Jan and Paula. Excellent breakfast, too! You need to be OK with the steep and long staircases these old Amsterdam houses have.

Room Tip: You need to be OK with steep stairs. Some rooms have steep stairs from bedroom to bathroom but this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jclarke1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

we were lucky to stay at Tulipa during our trip to Amsterdam. the place is fantastic!
Paula and Jan - the owners - are so nice and friendly, we just loved them.
we stayed in a 2-rooms apartment with a gorgeous view to the canal. the rooms were beautifully decorated. when we just arrived our room was not yet ready and we were offered a temporarily room on the first floor. it was also very nicely decorated and just like our room it had coffee machine and a tea pot.
Tulipa has its own application which is available free of charge both for android and iphone. this is really helpful because it is very easy to find all useful info about the city in it.

Location is perfect - just 1 min walk to the Leidsplein and very close to many attraction and museums. Boat station is just on the corner.

Cleaning service was daily and was really good.

We really enjoyed our stay at Tulipa and will definitely choose it for our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yershova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We were a group of nine people and had a double room, a suite and an apartment. They were all lovely and each with its own charm. The owners, Paula and her husband were quite helpful and easy to talk to. The breakfast they served, much of it according to your whim and wishes, on par with the best of them. It was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Boutique Hotel View
#103 of 372 in Amsterdam
953 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#194 of 372 in Amsterdam
336 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#60 of 372 in Amsterdam
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#55 of 372 in Amsterdam
876 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#46 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,089 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
No photo provided
View Bed and Breakfast
#229 of 338 in Amsterdam
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulipa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulipa Bed & Breakfast

Address: Leidsekade 75, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $231 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulipa is beautifully situated on the Leidsekade allowing the most picturesque views of the Amsterdam canals. Our carefully furnished rooms offer all the facilities of a five-star hotel, but with that extra personal touch. Tulipa's location is a perfect starting point for any visitor. The Leidseplein with its theatres, bars, nightclubs and restaurants, the Museumplein with its famous museums and the PC Hoofdtstraat for incredible shopping are all within 5 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tulipa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulipa Bed And Breakfast
Tulipa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing