We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
midhurst
1 review
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed August 4, 2008

The Tulipa is a brilliant place to stay when visiting Amsterdam. Ideally situated in a wonderfully quiet, canal side street, it is close to museums, barge trips and the park. We borrowed bicycles from Jan and Paula and toured the whole city with ease.
The Tulipa is extremely comfortable: good beds, lovely bathrooms and spotlessly clean and well appointed. The garden facing room does not have much of an outlook but nonetheless is very comfortable.
Paula's breakfast is the best B&B style breakfast I have ever had and she looked after us with great attention and kindness.
I would certainly stay at the Tulipa in favour of any hotel in the city and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidhurstBaldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    21
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
115
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2008

We were extremely pleased with our stay at Tulipa. The facilities were excellent. The room was large and decorated in a warm and modern way. The beds were very comfortable (king-size) and the bed linen was first class. We shared a room with our teenager so there was a third bed put in the room. That bed was as comfortable as ours and still the room was large! The bathroom was large as well and had separate bathtub and shower.

Breakfast was very very good. Everything so fresh and there was something hot and delicious made for you each morning.

Tulipa has the best location - in the center so you can walk to all destinations as a tourist. If you don't feel like it then Leidse Plein is a two minutes walk away where you can take the Tram.

The owners were very friendly and helpful and they know everything you need to know when you're in Amsterdam. Just ask and they gladly find the answer.

We'd stay there again.

  • Liked — The quality of the facilities and the friendly, helpful owners/staff.
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FjolaKristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2008

very nice room and bathroom, great view, friendly people, good breakfast. RECOMMENDED!!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Ernie1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2008

We stayed for a weekend at the Tulipa Hotel in Amsterdam. We were wonderfully lucky in that the weather was beautiful, the room we were allocated was bright, airy and very large. The bathroom was sizeable as well. The bedroom overlooked the canal and we could watch the large tourist boats and smaller family boats making their way along the water which was very interesting and relaxing. We were served excellent breakfasts - very highly recommended.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank CarolinMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

Tulipa offers the ultimate Amsterdam experience. I used to live in this city, and to be able to stay on one of its grand canals was fantastic experience. The views from the canal room's balcony were a great treat after pounding the pavement all day. Boats pass by, bicycles race along the Leidsekade, and there are always people to see.

This B&B is exquisitely furnished. The beds are comfortable and covered with luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets. The bathrooms are HUGE. The bath in the canal room allows you to bathe in candlelight while watching the canal boats cruise by. Both rooms are quite large and offer a real home feeling, but with a sense of chic. The garden view room looks like a great alternative if the canal room is booked. I got to see both.

But the best part is the gracious treatment you receive by hosts, Jan & Paula. Paula if from the UK and makes a fantastic breakfast including salmon omelettes - delicious. And Jan, born and raised in Amsterdam, can tell you anything you need to know about the city. He plans to give tours of Amsterdam soon in his own canal boat. I'll have to return for this, and have another great stay in Tulipa!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank worldkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Boutique Hotel View
#80 of 368 in Amsterdam
929 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#190 of 368 in Amsterdam
327 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#121 of 368 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
377 House - Amsterdam
#59 of 368 in Amsterdam
252 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#37 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,057 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulipa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulipa Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
Address: Leidsekade 75, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulipa is beautifully situated on the Leidsekade allowing the most picturesque views of the Amsterdam canals. Our carefully furnished rooms offer all the facilities of a five-star hotel, but with that extra personal touch. Tulipa's location is a perfect starting point for any visitor. The Leidseplein with its theatres, bars, nightclubs and restaurants, the Museumplein with its famous museums and the PC Hoofdtstraat for incredible shopping are all within 5 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tulipa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulipa Hotel Amsterdam
Tulipa Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing