We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulipa Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #37 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, North Carolina
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at Tulipa with another couple a month ago and had a great time. It is centrally located to most attractions that are within an easy walk. The breakfasts were fantastic. And Paula was a great help in recommending things to see and places to eat. If we are back in Amsterdam we will definitely stay at Tulipa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 269Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    20
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
110
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

All the reviews below mine convey our stay at the Tulipa, hosted by Paula, perfectly - it was fantastic!

To the advice prior to arriving on places to go and booking tickets in advance, to restaurant and places to go recommendations. Don't miss the apple pie experience - Paula will explain!

Great canal view room, with all the small details thought of. We can't recommned highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Pre-arrival communication and transportation information was very good. The bus from the airport drops you a short walk from the door. Paula met us on arrival and helped with local insight into our agenda. Her restaurant recommendations in a nearby neighborhood were excellent. The canal suite is up a double flight of stairs and the bath is up another somewhat steep flight of stairs, but I think this is typical of Amsterdam. The location is a short walk to the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Concertgebouw but feels more like a neighborhood than a tourist area. Tram stops are close by to take you around the canal ring or straight through the city to Centraal station. The canal view suite made us feel like we were staying at a friend’s nicely appointed apartment. Breakfast includes an assortment of fresh fruit, cheese, artisan breads and one of Paula’s specialties like omelets or banana pancakes. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tulipa and the warm hospitality.

Room Tip: The canal suite was the size of an apartment with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed at the at Tulipa for two days.
The hotel is very well located in Amsterdam, between the Jordan area and the Museum area. I have visited Amsterdam a couple of times and this is one of the best place to be.
Plus it has a very easy access to the rest of the city thanks to a convenient Tram station very close.
Host are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast very good and definitely made of quality products.
The room was lovely, with a tasty decoration and lot of space on two levels.
Plus some small details such as the complimentary red and white bottles of wine or the Nespresso coffee machine. Small details but make you feel at home.
Great place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RueDelYvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Tulipa in late November, and can not recommend the B and B enough. Up until now we have always stayed in hotels but because of the great ratings and price we decided to go for this B and B. We were not disappointed. Arriving earlier than expected the room was ready and we where greated by the owner Paula who was very friendly with loads of advice for our stay. The room was the standard river view room but was large, perfectly clean and comfortable. We could not have wanted more. I really like the little touch of having dvds available to watch when you want some down time. The location of the B and B is just right, within easy walking distance of everything. We missed breakfast the first morning but managed to get up at a sensible time the second day, with everything supplied that you could need. We had a great time and if we visit Amsterdam in the future we would not hesitate to stay at this great b and b again. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at the Tulipa from 28th - 31st March in the canal view room. We found the hosts, Paula & Jan, friendly and helpful especially with their suggestions for meals out and transport information. Breakfasts were very good with a selection of cereals, cold meats and cheese, fresh fruit salad and yoghurt. Paula also cooks a fresh egg dish each morning, we had an tasty omelette and also smoked salmon and scrambled egg. Rooms are a good size, large comfy bed and a large modern bathroom with separate shower and cool double sink. Unfortunately we had snow and it was very cold during our stay so the balcony seating didn't get used as much as we'd hoped! We went out to the Gashouder one evening so knew that we would miss breakfast the next day - Paula left fresh fruit, yoghurt, granola and fresh milk in our room so we could get some vitamins when we finally woke up, a nice touch. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the Tulipa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Femaleram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Situated between the museum district and the 9 streets, this guest house offers ease of access to all the sights of Amsterdam. The owners are very friendly and offer good advice on sights to see and places to visit. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is fresh and prepared on order.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Boutique Hotel View
#60 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#28 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Weber
Hotel Weber
#41 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
#7 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulipa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulipa Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
Address: Leidsekade 75, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulipa is beautifully situated on the Leidsekade allowing the most picturesque views of the Amsterdam canals. Our carefully furnished rooms offer all the facilities of a five-star hotel, but with that extra personal touch. Tulipa's location is a perfect starting point for any visitor. The Leidseplein with its theatres, bars, nightclubs and restaurants, the Museumplein with its famous museums and the PC Hoofdtstraat for incredible shopping are all within 5 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tulipa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulipa Bed And Breakfast
Tulipa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing