We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“As lovely as expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulipa Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Uttoxeter
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“As lovely as expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at the Tulipa from 28th - 31st March in the canal view room. We found the hosts, Paula & Jan, friendly and helpful especially with their suggestions for meals out and transport information. Breakfasts were very good with a selection of cereals, cold meats and cheese, fresh fruit salad and yoghurt. Paula also cooks a fresh egg dish each morning, we had an tasty omelette and also smoked salmon and scrambled egg. Rooms are a good size, large comfy bed and a large modern bathroom with separate shower and cool double sink. Unfortunately we had snow and it was very cold during our stay so the balcony seating didn't get used as much as we'd hoped! We went out to the Gashouder one evening so knew that we would miss breakfast the next day - Paula left fresh fruit, yoghurt, granola and fresh milk in our room so we could get some vitamins when we finally woke up, a nice touch. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the Tulipa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Femaleram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    20
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
110
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Situated between the museum district and the 9 streets, this guest house offers ease of access to all the sights of Amsterdam. The owners are very friendly and offer good advice on sights to see and places to visit. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is fresh and prepared on order.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous weekend break in Amsterdam for my husband's birthday. The Tulipa lived up to its 5 star rating on Trip Advisor with excellent personal service. Paula and Jan, our hosts, were very attentive from their initial greeting with tea and coffee and a quick guide to Amsterdam and all it had to offer, to advising and booking restaurants for us and generally being very plesant, accomodating and friendly throughout our stay. The room (canal view) was lovely, spacious, nicely decorated, immaculate and the large bathroom was very clean and modern. The large bed was very comfy and it was nice to be able to sit at the small coffee table and chairs, looking out of the beautiful huge canal house windows over the canals watching the hustle and bustle of Amsterdammers. The room had tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary mini bar. The breakfasts were lovely, plentiful and varied with a different hot dish each day. We had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs one day and pancakes another, delicious! Even the retro detailing in the breakfast room was a delight, including an original fully working iMac! Would definately recommend Tulipa and Amsterdam- but watch out for the cyclists, they don't take any prisoners!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JiveHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our four night stay at the Tulipa was like a home from home experience. The canal view room we had was so large it had a full seating and dining area as well as a bed etc. This was lovely to have especially as Amsterdam was very cold when we were there and it was a pleasure to return to our room to warm up and relax without feeling you're staring at four walls. Paula and Jan were both very welcoming and gave us lots of tips on places to see and restaurants to eat. Breakfast was a lovely selection of fruits,cereals and bread with an individually cooked surprise each morning such as pancakes or eggs. We would definately recommend a stay here as this bed and breakfast is of a high quality and the location is perfect with every part of the city within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroleg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Paula and Jan gave us a warm welcome. We had a well appointed large bedroom and bathroom, and a very comfortable bed. The breakfasts were amazing. We received helpful and informative advice re trips and travel which made for wonderful city break. Thank you Paula and Jan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianbennett56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a change from a big hotel then the Tulipa is the perfect place. It's like staying in a friend's house. I had the canal-view room which overlooked Leidsegracht. King bed was comfortable, bathroom huge, shower hot and facilities just perfect for a few days in Amsterdam.

The friendly welcome on arrival included a coffee and a rundown of the city's attractions on a big map. Jan is a guy who knows his way around. Both Jan and Paula do their utmost to make your stay as pleasant as they can with suggestions as to how to fill your day and plenty of in-the-know advice.

The hotel is 2 minutes' stroll from Leidseplein which is itself on the 1, 2 or 5 tram line from the middle of town. Jordaan district is close by as are many restaurants, eetcafés and places to see. Amsterdam is so easy to get around on foot and Tulipa is well located.

The 197 bus gets you to and from Leidseplein with ease (and only costs €4) so forget the train if you're coming and going from the airport.

Daily breakfast is served in the dining room downstairs and is expertly cooked by Jan or Paula. Muesli, cereal, scrambled eggs and mushrooms, banana pancakes, fruit, toast are all available. Coffee is excellent. This is a good time to get some advice for the day's activities from the hosts.

In summary, this little 3-room B&B made my stay in Amsterdam a real delight. It's just perfect for a city break. Request the canal-view room for a truly Dutch experience!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank NurseRoodaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in the canal view suite the first weekend of Nov 2012. The entire experience was smooth - booking, communication with Paula, perfect directions from the airport to the hotel, and of course the stay itself! We were welcomed with hot tea and a map with recommendations. The suite was large, with great sitting area and a balcony overlooking the intersection of 2 canals. Amenities included a fridge, water kettle, and coffee maker. The bathroom is up another flight of stairs (interior to the room), but large, private, and with heated floors. We were so busy we only enjoyed breakfast one morning, but it was excellent. It is also a great location to get out and about nearby, but also to grab a tram to other neighborhoods. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLE_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Boutique Hotel View
#64 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#28 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#5 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Weber
Hotel Weber
#41 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
#7 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulipa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulipa Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
Address: Leidsekade 75, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulipa is beautifully situated on the Leidsekade allowing the most picturesque views of the Amsterdam canals. Our carefully furnished rooms offer all the facilities of a five-star hotel, but with that extra personal touch. Tulipa's location is a perfect starting point for any visitor. The Leidseplein with its theatres, bars, nightclubs and restaurants, the Museumplein with its famous museums and the PC Hoofdtstraat for incredible shopping are all within 5 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tulipa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulipa Bed And Breakfast
Tulipa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing