We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice relaxing meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De knijp

De knijp
Ranked #297 of 3,562 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $27
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

As per previous reviews, we were not disappointed with this restaurant. We arrived at 8.30 and the pre-theatre diners had left. The place was quite quiet with only another four tables occupied. We shared a bruschetta starter which was excellent then had a salmon and steak dish. The house wine was very good and reasonably priced. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilbinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    139
    23
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
233 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant (but Museumplein neighborhood prices!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I have eaten at Knijp many times - and like it every time. The food is well done, the service super friendly, and the atmosphere laid-back. Perfect place for a good meal in the Museumplein neighborhood without securing a reservation ahead of time. But note that it's casual, pub-like atmosphere can be deceiving; the prices are not cheap and reflect the neighborhood. Expect between 18 and 23 Euros per main course.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GroteAppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Weekend break Feb 14”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had to make advance booking for this one as it has a healthy clientele from concert goers but our wait was well worth it. The atmosphere, the staff, the food not to mention wine & liqueurs were all excellent and made for a memorable experience. Another venue we won't miss if we can help it next time we are in this great city.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly deliciousness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Just as all the other reviews said, everyone was friendly and took great care of our group of 7 work mates. Thank you Anika, Pieter & Nicole! Even more important, the food was delicious! Try the creamy garlic snails with mushrooms, venison carpaccio or goats cheese salad - all starts were great. I had a gratinated tenderloin which was melt in your mouth perfect. Nice Spanish Toro & Rioja + muscato & port topped off the meal. Definitely will come back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Krissytravelkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have had 2 wonderful experiences in this restaurant lately. One with a large party of 14 people, some coming at different times during the evening. Another with a smaller group of 6.
Both were excellent.
The management is very friendly and accommodating.
The food is of excellent quality.
Menus are in English if you need them, service is great.
Overall a great dining experience to be fully recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De knijp also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De knijp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing