We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value restaurant near Museumplein”
Review of De knijp

De knijp
Reserve with
De knijp is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #387 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $29
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good value restaurant near Museumplein”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This, like the nearby La Falote, was recommended by our hotel receptionist and after walking past it on our first night we went here on our second - principally because I fancied steak and chips! We were eating around 19.30 and the downstairs was empty, but we could see other diners upstairs so decided to give it a try. In fact my steak, which I'd asked for medium rare was one of the best I'd ever had - pink all the way through, and so tender I wish I'd gone for rare or even blue! The atmosphere was good, and service friendly and efficient; it's also open till midnight, later than La Falote, so useful if you want to dine later.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    151
    26
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Must be an 'in' place”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

A Dutch member of our who knew Amsterdam team organised a dinner here so it must have a good reputation - very good for a group, we all had a good dinner with drinks and coffee, although I am sorry to say I cannot remember what any of us ate!.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fredo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I was in Amsterdam over the weekend with my boyfriend and we were so hungry we asked the taxi driver to recommend us somewhere, so he took us to De Knijp and it was absolutely amazing. The food came quickly, staff were so friendly and the food was so so good. It's a nice cosy intimate restaurant and I would highly recommend, very affordable too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LPB900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Museum District”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a good value for your money place. Not fancy but traditional Dutch interior. Service good. Food good. We went after 8 and there was lots of room. It stays open really late so you can go there after a concert at the Concertgbouw which is nearby. It is usually packed on concert nights but after 8 everyone is gone. We went once and then went back because we liked it so much. Look for Pete the waiter and tell him we recommended him and De Knijp as promised.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent wine choice”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

+
large menu
weekly suggestions with wild menu
excellent red house wine
friendly service
quality food (rather small portions)
excellent desserts

-
early closing time

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De knijp also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De knijp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing