We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE AND CLEAN...IN A GHETTO”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
XO Hotels Blue Square
Ranked #163 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 29, 2009

While the hotel is not bad, the neighborhood it is in is awfull, and certainly NOT a place for families or female guests.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DUTCHANDFREE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,244 - 1,250 of 2,014 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2009

I stayed here with my mom and my Aunt for Spring Break in March of 2009. This hotel was a really nice surprise. The rooms were nice and the bar was great. I would recommend staying here when in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCJetsetter1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

It's a very nice hotel. Me and my friend stayed there for 2 nights.The rooms were large and the beds were pretty comfortable. The bathroom was also large and clean. It's not near to downtown of Amsterdam but the tram is 5 min walk to the hotel. The staff is also very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank semihaserbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 1 nights (Sept 15 2009) Reserved online.

Hotel was easy to find but parking was difficult to find. Also it cost 15 Euros per night to park. I thought that to be excessive. It is far from central amsterdam so not convenient if your purpose is to see the city sites and night life in a short time. Great if you are more leisurely.

Strange looking from the outside, so really kind of cool. Very nice decor inside.

All of the staff were friendly. Breakfast buffet was extra but very nice with a good selection of typical Dutch breakfast foods. The room itself was a good size, with 2 twin beds. My mother was happy, but I found mine to soft and everytime I rolled over, I rolled off. (I took points off room for that) Finally pulled my mattress to the floor and slept very comfortably. I know that sounds weird but at least it was clean enough that I felt comfortable to do that. The decor was clean and very attractive. The bathroom was spotless and lots of hot water. We couldn't hear any sounds from other rooms. There was AC and the windows opened. The hotel has free internet in the lobby.

We travel to Netherlands about once per year, I would absolutely stay there again.

The pictures of the rooms that the hotel posts are exactly what I saw and got.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianWomanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

The Best Western Blue Square is located in the subarbs of Amsterdam near transit and pedestrian malls. The neighborhood is Turkish and very nice but there are not a lot of dining or entertainment options.

The rooms was average-sized with basic furnishings. No mini-fridge. The bed was extremely soft - almost uncomfortably so. We found reception to be prompt and friendly and service staff overall were fairly professional.

We ate buffet breakfast for 10 euros pp in the hotel on Sunday - mostly because everything in the area was closed and we were starved.

The hotel charged the city tax separately, even though this was not advertised on hotels.com. Disappointing, but only 21 euros. Reception sold transit passes and rented bicycles which was convenient - as you'll definitely need them.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharityK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in July. Busy, busy hotel, but we found front desk staff to be extremely helpful printing out tickets for us and giving us good advice on where to eat and how to get around.
Room was fine with 4 single beds which were all very comfortable. Clean and really all we needed for a base in Amsterdam. Also free wifi a plus!
The hotel is located about 20 mins on the tram from the city - but it was never a problem for us. We enjoyed the short trip and felt safe walking back to the hotel late at night. There's a supermarket and laundramat close to the hotel and we used both.
You should visit the Anne Frank house - a big highlight for our family and very moving.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank em_be53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Receptionist let us check in 2 hours early, room was nice and big, air conitioner worked, windows opened even though we kept them closed. Beds were sooooo comfy, bathroom was lovely and very clean, could have done with a double bed rather than two singles, you get a kettle in the room and powered milk but had to buy our own carton of milk each morning as there's no fridge. You get the 14 tram into dam square or 21 bus. It takes about 15 mins but we didn't mind cos you save loads on hotel price. Apart from checking in and out we only went to reception once and the blonde receptionist wasnt friendly at all, never smiled and practically ignored us, but apart from that we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liverpoolmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.1 mi away
XO Hotels Blue Tower
XO Hotels Blue Tower
#181 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,874 reviews
2.1 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,940 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#110 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
3.1 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#125 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,336 reviews
1.2 mi away
XO Hotels Park West
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XO Hotels Blue Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XO Hotels Blue Square

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Blue Square Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $63 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — XO Hotels Blue Square 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XO HOTELS BLUE SQUARE takes its name from the striking building in which it is located. All, in 2017 renovated, hotel rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free Nespresso coffee/tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Schiphol Airport, the RAI Convention Center, the port and Passenger Terminal Amsterdam (cruise ships) can be reached within 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your XO Hotels Blue Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing