We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware - unfriendly and unhelpful ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
XO Hotels Blue Square
Ranked #163 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

My two friends and I used booking.com to book a comfort double room, which was advertised as having one double (full) bed, and one single (twin) bed. After calling to specifically confirm this and being told it was no problem, we proceeded to book. Upon arrival, we were told that this type of room did not exist. The girl at the reception then proceeded to tell us this was our problem and that they couldn't help us. After showing her the booking.com reservation, we were told the hotel was not responsible for information on booking.com as it was not on the hotels website. We were told it was not possible to get an extra bed in the room, we were not offered extra towels, pillows, sheets, etc., and as such, us 3 young men were forced to share 2 single beds for the night, which was less than ideal or comfortable.

While I understand that mistakes happen, the fact that the hotel staff told us the mix up was our fault and was less than accommodating, I would not recommend for anyone to stay here.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Cvon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 2,010 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2014

Pleasent, silent place.
A little bit far from downtown, but good public transportation facilities.
Good services.
Clean room, with comfortable furnishing. Safe is included.
Free wifi.
Tasty and reach buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Janos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Our stay in the hotel was okey, nearby our goal in that weekend so ideal.
The room however was not very clean, koffie stains on the wall. Bedside lamp little bit crooked on he wall, Mirror in the badroom not clean and i will not speak about the dust in the room . Because of my health ( hey fever) its easy to spot.

But not only complains shower was very very good end clean towel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank aschwin_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We choose this hotel since it was very nearby the Loveland Festival place. It is not nearby the city centre though.

We didnot have breakfast since we left the hotel early and went to starbucks.

Friendly staff

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Patric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were very satisfied. The rooms had AC and wifi, the staff was friendly, and the location is only about a 20 minute tram ride to the city center. Will definitely stay here again on the next trip to Amsterdam!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is a nice hotel, but i left my purse in the room with a lot of money, ring and pearl bracelets inside and it wasn't turned in. The hotel is not close to the centre but you can get a taxi back for around 20 euros or get the tram. Just make sure you don't forget anything as you will not see it again!

Room Tip: Wifi available on the first level as it's closer to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean room and bathroom. Good AC and a safe in the room. I screwed up my reservation and they fixed it for me. Great service in the reception.
It is still a bit too far from city center in my opinion.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Guðni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.1 mi away
XO Hotels Blue Tower
XO Hotels Blue Tower
#181 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,870 reviews
2.1 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#109 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#124 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,333 reviews
1.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
1.2 mi away
XO Hotels Park West
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XO Hotels Blue Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XO Hotels Blue Square

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Blue Square Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $66 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — XO Hotels Blue Square 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XO HOTELS BLUE SQUARE takes its name from the striking building in which it is located. All, in 2017 renovated, hotel rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free Nespresso coffee/tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Schiphol Airport, the RAI Convention Center, the port and Passenger Terminal Amsterdam (cruise ships) can be reached within 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your XO Hotels Blue Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing