We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean facility.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
XO Hotels Blue Square
Ranked #163 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I like its close proximity from the transportation stops, and the cleanliness of the rooms. However, I did not like the fact that I was able to request for an early check in online but couldn't check in until 2pm. Also, I did not like noise coming from the hallway every time somebody closes one of the doors.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Islandmaxster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

768 - 774 of 2,014 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed in this hotel in July 2014.

Arrived at Schipol airport and caught the No. 69 bus from Bay 15 at the airport. Buses run about every 15 minutes. Ensure bus direction is Sloterdyk for the Blue Square Hotel and the stop for the hotel is Lodewyk Van Deysselstraat which is about a 3 minute walk to the hotel. Rooms were not ready when we arrived at 12.00 p.m. but they locked our luggage away and we were told to come back in 1 hour when the room would be ready and it was. We had a quadrupal room for 3 adults and a 15 year old. The room was very large with tea/coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV with English channels. Clean towels were given every day. You can ask for a fridge (they have 3 mobile ones) to be put in the room which we did but one was not available but they advised us that we could put things in the fridge behind reception. We purchased our GVB travel cards at reception which you can use on trams, buses and the metro of which we used all. Hotel is about 15-20 minutes out of Amsterdam centre but a pleasant journey and not a problem once you learn where the stops are. 'Dam' is the best stop on the tram for the Centre and back to the hotel you need stop 'Plein 40-45' and again is only a 3 minute walk to hotel. Breakfast was very good. Continental meats and cheeses, Eggs, bacon, mushrooms (although I wish they wouldn't put herbs on them!!!), tomatoes, baked beans, pastries, cereal, yoghurts, jams, fresh bread, juices, tea and coffee and all plentiful and very good. Would highly recommend Anne Frank House, Yab Yum Brothel museum, a look round the red light district and the Hop on Hop off bus tour was very informative. There is so much to see and do in Amsterdam we stayed 4 days and ran out of time. Was a very short trip but we packed in loads.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Poor, Unkind staff
Hair Blow Drier Not working!!!!With 2 KIDS that needed after night bath
No Frigo bar
Dirty! bathroom mirror
Hotel located next to a local Market - Nauseous! odor of fish and garbage

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Vicenzo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shihotelgroup, General Manager at XO Hotels Blue Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Vicenzo G,

Thank you for taking your time and leaving us your review online.

I am very sorry to read that the hotel did not exceed your expectations.

Is it possible for you to send me an email providing me additional information regarding your reservation in our establishment.

Hereby I would like to inform you that in non of our hotelrooms there is standard a refrigerator. This is only on request and availability that we can provide it in your room. We do have a refrigerator at the reception for guest to use (free).

We would like to show you in a return stay that we are a clean and kind hotel and take your feedback seriously. Therefor I would like to apologize again for the bad experience that you had while staying in Amsterdam.

If there is anything else that I can do for you please do not hesitate to contact me directly: ipek.gonzalez@bluesquarehotel.nl

Kind regards,

Ipek Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are really spacious and were kept clean. Traveled all over europe and this place easily had the best showers. Location of the hotel isn't great, however. There isn't that much to do nearby unless you start to venture towards the city centre.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank theDeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Lovely big room, clean and everything working! They put a birthday banner, balloons and chocolate cake in room for our friend as requested. All staff were friendly and helpful. I will stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LisaOD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

A perfect example of what a hotel should be. Friendly staff, very clean rooms, located very close to public transport, and all at a reasonable price. I will stay here again the next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 186Stefanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and was fantastic simple and basic hotel, very friendly staff and extremely helpful. About 25 minutes by tram to amsterdam main centre but doesn't take long at all. Rooms we're clean and air con was brilliant.would stay again for sure

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.1 mi away
XO Hotels Blue Tower
XO Hotels Blue Tower
#181 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,874 reviews
2.1 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,939 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#110 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
3.1 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#125 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,336 reviews
1.2 mi away
XO Hotels Park West
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XO Hotels Blue Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XO Hotels Blue Square

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Blue Square Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $63 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — XO Hotels Blue Square 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XO HOTELS BLUE SQUARE takes its name from the striking building in which it is located. All, in 2017 renovated, hotel rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free Nespresso coffee/tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Schiphol Airport, the RAI Convention Center, the port and Passenger Terminal Amsterdam (cruise ships) can be reached within 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your XO Hotels Blue Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing