We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Ranked #147 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. It's location is decent as we didn't pay for a taxi once in Amsterdam, we got the bus to and from the airport and the bus/tram in to amsterdam everyday. As for the hotel it's cheap and cheerful really. The staff are helpful and pleasant and the rooms are tidy but a bit dated which really didn't bother us. We paid for breakfast which was basic but as we aren't really fussy, we just had grabbed something we liked from the buffet and got on with the day.

We bought a bus/tram ticket for our duration at reception which probably saved us a lot of money, it cost about 15euros and lasts a week. Just make sure you get the right bus/tram and get off at the right stop! If I can remember correctly the stop for the hotel is something like 'slotenmeer'.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    781
    297
    98
    76
See reviews for
284
637
80
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

cool stay thanks. close to puplic transport. next to small shopping center. nice room, but small but ok for the price. WIFI was quite fast. Would come again. Restaurant is a bit expensive , but overall i would come again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I chose this hotel for its proximity to Sloterparkbad where I was attending an event. As a seasoned traveller, I researched everything from accessibility, distance to city centre, transport, previous reviews and best price via various search engines and websites before booking.

This hotel is a good mid-range chain hotel situated in a residential area with very good transport connections to the city centre (Trams 7 and 14) and the airport (Bus 69 or 369). Tram and Bus Stops are within walking distance. Staff here are friendly and helpful. The bar in the lobby is small and functional. Bedrooms are spacious and clean, showers are a good size and spotless. Free Wi-Fi a bonus! Breakfast is a serve yourself buffet, with a good choice of cheese and meats, sliced fruit as well as cooked fare. Bakery items plentiful as well as the customary do it yourself toaster. Cereals were limited to 3 which was a bit of a let down for someone who likes just simple Cornflakes rather than museli or sugared cereals, which weren't particularly free flowing from their containers.

Plenty of supermarkets and bakeries nearby to stock up with food and drink before heading out for the day. At the end of the day there are a couple of bars and restaurants nearby if not eating in the hotel. Having dinner at the hotel didn't fit with my own plans, albeit the dinner menu looked quite enticing and was competitive with others in the area and indeed in the city centre.

A tip on the transport side - research well the museums and sights you want to see before being lured into buying a combination museum and transport ticket. The museums included may not be the ones you want to see, as there are only a selection not all! Good value are the 24, 48, 72 hour tickets for buses and trams which can be purchased at Amsterdam tourist office at the airport and at the Central Station. Also look at the hop on hop off canal bus which is a relaxing way to travel and see a bit more of the city from a different perspective.

Room Tip: Although I didn't hear any noise, its always good to ask for a room at the back of this hotel fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed there a couple nights earlier this month. Did stay a few years ago and that was better. Service was average, room was decent, but far over priced for what it was. Breakfast was a winner though.

Room Tip: We stayed tucked away in a corner room somewhere, it was still quite loud from the cleaners slamming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Smeatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cle Elum, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We enjoyed our stay on our last night in Europe. The rooms are average hotel size, the bathroom spotless, and shower huge. The hotel has a sleek feel, but could benefit from an outdoor space. The amenities were top quality and a nice touch. I booked this hotel with my BW points and the breakfast was included, a very nice meal. It's in an area of Moroccan culture and steps away is a small mall that is quite an interesting experience. Ada's restaurant is highly recommended and close by but expensive so we opted for the little local bar across from it that was very good. The tram stops close by so it should be quite accessible, but we took a town car from the airport for a last splurge (40 euros). There's a noon check out that was nice. We didn't have to feel hurried for a 3 p.m. flight.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakecleelum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed with a family of 5 and found this to be a a very good hotel and great value for Amsterdam. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and good sized. The hotel location is outside of the city center, but the tram stop is just up the street and it is an easy tram ride into central Amsterdam. You can purchase the tram tickets, etc. right from the front desk so there is no hassle or confusion. It's only about a 20 min taxi ride to/from the airport from the hotel. Would recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed at this Hotel in February on a weekend trip to Amsterdam and loved it. The room was really lovely and of high quality. The room had a large walk in shower which was amazing! The air con in the room was outstanding and easy to use. We choose to have breakfast added on to our visit and what a great choice it was the food was outstanding and there was plenty of it! We didnt realise how far out of the city centre the hotel was but just outside is a tram stop which takes you directly into the centre and takes about 25 minutes to get there. It is a bit rough in the area the hotel is located. Would definately recommend this hotel but next time we would go closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
#187 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,406 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
1.6 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#159 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The building takes it's name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has undoubtedly explain that the only building in the characteristic blue color can be dyed. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free wifi internet and free coffee/ tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business, or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Sloterdijk Station is just steps away from our hotel and SchipholAirport, the RAIConvention Center, the Port and Passenger Terminal Amstedam (cruisschepen) can be reached in 30 minutes. At the BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Blue Square we strive to provide the facilities you require, with little extras to make you feel at home in a friendly and welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing