We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“If distance isn't and issue then you won't be dissapointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Ranked #147 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If distance isn't and issue then you won't be dissapointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My wife recently took me to Amsterdam for my Birthday and arranged everything. My wife made a small faux pas by booking the wrong best western hotel (if you want to be in the City Centre then this ISN'T THE ONE) after an initial shock of seeing how far this was from The Dam we settled into a pleasant room on the ground floor looking out towards the rear carpark and canals. Although we worried this could be noisy and have privacy issues it really wasn't a concern after the first night.

The staff were welcoming and friendly and the breakfasts were tasty and we have a vast choice, often going back for seconds. This really is needed as your trip into The Dam every morning will take the best part of 40 minutes (you often have to wait 15 minutes for a tram) but the journey is straight forward and we grew to enjoy it. The best tip we had was to by a city pass for 72 hours for around 15 Euros each, this lasted all weekend and we simply hopped on and off a bus or tram.

The area isn't on first impressions the "nicest" area and compare's to a market area which initially was a bit intimidating but again after the first day we settled in and it became our running joke by singing "in the ghetto". But seriously don't let this concern you it was just not what we expected. This hotel is equal distance to to The Dam and airport making it a fairly convenient location.

My verdict is that if you don't want the noise and potential stag parties screaming outside your hotel door at night then being further from the center is actually a good choice, if we returned to Amsterdam we would happily stay here again (and plan to do so) so that should say it all.

I think it was the no 16 tram that went to the dam. (Ask for a tram map from the conductor ) you will need it for day 1 but the tram system is so easy to pick up you'll be a pro within 24 hours. Westermarket is a good stop to get off (near the Ann Frank museum )

A good value hotel, good staff, great breakfasts but will have a commute. If you don't mind that then book away.

Room Tip: My advice would be to ask for a 1st floor room or above..but don't worry too much if not. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    780
    295
    98
    76
See reviews for
284
634
80
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just returned from a couple of nights here. Another member of our foursome booked this hotel and it would not have maybe been my choice. However I was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is on a great public transport network, the 69 bus from the airport stops a few metres from the hotel and there are buses and trams about every 10 minutes into Central Amsterdam. The 3 day travel card bought from the hotel was an excellent buy, 17 euros I think.
The hotel was spotlessly clean and our room which was four bedded was very large and comfortable with ample towels etc.
The reception was friendly and gave us lots of info on everything we needed. All in all an excellent value hotel, a bit out of town but with such good public transport we never felt this was an issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My Husband and I stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of May 14. The Hotel is 30 minutes from the Airport via Bus 69 and stops outside the hotel and located 20 minutes from the centre of Amsterdam via tram 7 or 14. The hotel is not immediately easy on the eye as it's painted blue although you cannot miss it; but once inside you are greeted by pleasant surroundings and staff who are keen to ensure you have a great stay. We arrive at our hotel 6 hours prior to designated check-in and whilst our room was not ready, we were allowed to leave our luggage securely and returned later that evening. Our room was clean, and provided ample space for two. The bathroom had a walk in shower which was amazing. I have to say that my husband and I both commented that the first night stay was the best sleep we have had whilst in a hotel (this could be due to the amount of walking we had done that day), and we were rested well for day two of our trip. There is a flat screen TV in the room which has BBC1 and BBC2 channels. The breakfast provided both cooked and continental varieties and lovely fresh coffee. Whilst the hotel is not immediately in the centre, this is not a problem at all, the tram journey is enjoyable and allows you to view the less commercial aspect of the city. There are shops/fresh bakers around the immediate vicinity of the hotel but not many restaurants so I would advise to eat when out. TIP: if staying at this hotel I would recommend purchasing a travel pass which can be obtained from reception or the local shop Primera - we paid 16.50 euros each for a 3 day pass ideal if using public transport regularly; but can be purchased in smaller dominations. These can be used on both trams and busses and provided our return bus fare to the Airport. You have to swipe the card when entering the tram and you must swipe on exit otherwise the card will not work on your next journey. Will certainly stay at this hotel again and recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: We had a room located in the centre of the hotel which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Situated around a 25min tram ride from Amsterdam Central Station, giving beautiful sights of the real Amsterdam. The room was perfect even if no milk was provided, but I also didn't ask. Had a relaxing bathroom experience and the bed was so perfect I wanted to stay sleeping longer. Most certainly will return in the future. There are a few local shops and if you walk about 5mins you'll find a beautiful lake with little cafe. Noticed there was a market area next to the hotel. The breakfast was expansive and there was a lot of choice. Will become my hotel for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanJamesC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here recently for a three night long weekend. Staff were VERY helpful nothing too much trouble. Room was comfortable and cosy - and overlooked the lake. 5 minute walk the the bus stop - buying a hop on off ticket for three days was great value. 10 - 15 minutes into the town centre so very easy and cheap. Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Room overlooking the lake at the back for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel staff not very friendly or willing to help with directions etc. shower was dirty and shower door didn't close all the way, leaving the bathroom floor soaked. I would not stay here again, the area wasn't great and it seemed far from all of the tourist spots. Restaurant was never open, so we always had to step out for a bite to eat. The only upside was the small market in the square next door. I would avoid this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lndubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ont
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just recently on a vacation with friend. Staff were very helpful, the room was clean and well situated to public transportation . Was within a 10 to 15 min bus ride of leidesplein and museumsplein. I Would definitely stay here again as it was just such easy access and so price worthy. The breakfast was plentiful fresh and only 10 euros if u booked the day before. Also good to know is there is a small mall next door with grocery and coffee shop as well as restaurant choices nearby. Bakeries, phone store etc as well. Note the fish market next door also sells fish and chips:)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aqueouslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
#188 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,399 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
1.6 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#160 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The building takes it's name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has undoubtedly explain that the only building in the characteristic blue color can be dyed. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free wifi internet and free coffee/ tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business, or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Sloterdijk Station is just steps away from our hotel and SchipholAirport, the RAIConvention Center, the Port and Passenger Terminal Amstedam (cruisschepen) can be reached in 30 minutes. At the BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Blue Square we strive to provide the facilities you require, with little extras to make you feel at home in a friendly and welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing