We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Ranked #145 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Despite its not so good location the fact that I returned back to this hotel shows that it is a great value for money 4 star hotel! Excellent service, 5 stars in cleaningless and great breakfast! Disappointed for being given a small room but other than that, and it's not so great location (20mins tram from the centre) I 100% recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    781
    297
    98
    76
See reviews for
284
637
80
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

When I first got off the bus near the hotel I was a little surprised by the area the hotel was situated in but upon going into the hotel, my impressions changed. All lovely inside and the staff were so friendly and extremely helpful. We had been upgraded to a bigger room - why, I don't know. It was lovely and spacious. The bed was very comfortable too. In the bathroom they thought of everything, right down to disposable shaver, little manicure set, toothbrush and paste, slippers, shampoo, conditioners and so the list goes on. Well done to Best Western as always. Hotel a little way from the City centre but this was not issue, tram/bus service on the door step and so easy and on time too. All good!

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the building, a little noisy because of the traffic so maybe as for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshinesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here last year. Despite asking for a town room we were given a double. But to be honest, the bed was massive so it made no difference!
The hotel was lovely, clean and all the staff were amazing. The breakfast was to die for. It definitely set us up for the whole day.
When we arrived the lovely lady at reception told is everything we needed to know and made is feel welcome.
There is a lovely Turkish restaurant just toward the back of the hotel next to the lake/pond.
We got this hotel is a package deal so it was fairly inexpensive but definitely worth the price.
The location was excellent and only around 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam.
I will definitely consider going back to this hotel next time I visit.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank carlyy_warlyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed for 3N. The hotel is little away from city center but well connected with tram/bus which is just across. The place is easy to spot for its unique color. Rooms are well maintained. Staff at reception work with stiff upper lip though some are friendly. Food is good. Quiet surroundings with a bar and departmental store just across.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhishi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is OK as a base to explore Amsterdam. It isn't near the centre but a half hour team ride starts nearby. Buy discounted tickets at reception.

There are four stars on its sign outside, I think this is bravado! The rooms are a little tired although the beds are super comfy and the bathrooms excellent.

Breakfast buffet is OK but nothing to write home about and the lobby bar is hardly welcoming! Luckily the staff are welcoming and if you only need a bed rather than a luxurious spa retreat then this is for you!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Brighton_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just got back from a 4 day stay in amsterdam and this hotel is definitely a good choice to pick! The hotel itself is really easy to get too, just get the 69 bus from the airport and it takes you right outside the hotel. We checked in early evening and check in was quick and easy. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. We were given a map of the city and what trams to take. The hotel lobby is immaculate, likewise with our room. We were given a room on the first floor at the front of the hotel and we found no problems whatsoever- the room itself was spacious, the beds were really comfortable and the shower was great. The rooms come with toiletries; body wash, body cream and shampoo which is easy if you are travelling with just hand luggage. Another bonus is that there is some English TV channels - BBC1 and BBC2. Getting to central Amsterdam is really easy, the tram stop is right outside the hotel and it takes about 20 minutes , you can either take the 7 to Leidesplein which is good for shopping or the 14 to Dam which takes you to areas such as Anne Franks house and the red light district. There is a local supermarket at the end of the street which is good if you want to grab some snacks for your room and as the hotel is on the outskirt of the city centre it is a quiet retreat. Overall I would 100% recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Buy a tram pass from the hotel reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Georgia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Staff were always pleasant and helpful and the meals in the restaurant at night were good. It was no problem getting the tram into Amsterdam and, as we were not after the night life, it was nice to return to a quiet location after a day's sight seeing. The room was comfy and the bed comfortable and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
#186 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,406 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
1.6 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#158 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The building takes it's name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has undoubtedly explain that the only building in the characteristic blue color can be dyed. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free wifi internet and free coffee/ tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business, or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Sloterdijk Station is just steps away from our hotel and SchipholAirport, the RAIConvention Center, the Port and Passenger Terminal Amstedam (cruisschepen) can be reached in 30 minutes. At the BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Blue Square we strive to provide the facilities you require, with little extras to make you feel at home in a friendly and welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing