We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value. Great base for an Amsterdam visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Ranked #153 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value. Great base for an Amsterdam visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

At Schipol Get to the bus island and take the 69 bus towards Sloterdijk and get off 50 yards from the hotel. You might miss seeing the hotel ( its on the right , a big blue square building, yes really ) and go past it but fear not. There's another stop close by. Don't take the grin into the center and a taxi back. We took the train towards the center , got off at Sloterdijk and walked about a mile to the hotel through a neighborhood. We know better now. The public transport system is dead easy. Read up a bit before you go.

Check in staff were friendly and helpful.

Room was decent sized with high quality dark wood furniture. Bed was very comfortable. Modern bathroom with a rain shower which was lovely. Everything very clean. Room had a safe and kettle.

We didn't use the facilities for dining apart from breakfast. Good selection of both Euro and Englsh breakfast foods. Bacon, scrambled eggs, cheeses, croissants,breads,etc etc. nice coffee,cappuccino, etc machine so enjoy as much as you want.

Why would you stay here? It's quiet , clean, comfortable and inexpensive. I'd rather take a twenty minute tram ride to the city than try to sleep in a noisy downtown hotel. Amsterdam can get very busy. The public transport is fantastic. Get a two or three day pass and off you go.( the hotel sells bus passes ) Trams and busses are every ten to fifteen minutes. There's a supermarket across the street if you don't feel like dining out.

We booked through Easyjet and got a great deal so it might be worth using their site.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back with a view of the canal. Also gets you away from the sounds of the trams...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    845
    344
    112
    88
See reviews for
321
710
86
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Room was ok although the furniture looks a bit old fashion. room numbering n location is a bit confusing n we were lost searching for our room initially. main concern is the bath tub which was too high n slippery. very dangerous for kids n elderly. should hv rubber mat to avoid slipping.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yasminsanusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shihotelgroup, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate to hear about your experience.
Regarding the bathroom I would like to inform you that anti slip maths are available
at the reception desk. Because of hygienic reasons we do not have them standardly
in the rooms. the information about bath maths amongst other things can be found in the guest directory in the rooms or by dialing "9 " for reception.

Thanks again and hopfully we can acommodate you again in the future (bath math included ;)

Your sincerely,

Best Western PLUs Hotel Blue Square
Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

the best western blue square hotel provided us with a great base to explore from, all emails were answered very quickly and the information provided very helpful. we bought the bus tram and metro pass at the airport for 21 euros which covered us for a 4 days of jumping on and off the great transport system.we got the 69 bus which stops almost right outside the hotel. the receptionists were very nice and cheery, always ready to help. we only took the breakfast on our first and last morning we pre-booked it the night before for 10 euros, the breakfast was very nice and had a wide selection of food to choose from, the only complaint we had was it was on the cold side but when asked to have heated it was zapped in the micro in no time at all.

we stayed in room 285 and it was lovely and roomy enough for all of us, plenty of space for your clothes and bags without fear of tripping over them. the beds were lovely and soft and the bathroom was great, strong shower for me and a lovely deep bath for the others with plenty of hot water, pure bliss. the one negetive we had with this hotel was the bar. the bar is meant to be open till 1 am but when we arrived there was no sign of the barman and when he did arrive we got one drink and then he started to put everything away so we took the hint and went back to our room, the next 3 nights it was closed, when we asked about this seemly if there is no one in they close early maybe we were unlucky and the hotel was quieter than normal so be warned if you want to use the bar get there before 10pm. Apart from this very minor moan we had a great stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed with two other friends at this hotel Saturday 30th November to Monday 2nd December. we were in room 204 which was a lovely, clean, large, airy room. There was a lovely bathroom with a very powerful shower. We had dinner at the hotel the first night and although the menu was limited, the food when it came ( I had the veal ribeye steak) was beautifully prepared and served. The buffet breakfast was also very good, although the toaster could do with updating. All the staff, both in the restaurant, the bar and on reception were friendly and helpful, and would certainly go back again tho this hotel. Easy to get into city centre by either tram or bus which are frequent.

Room Tip: Ours was on the corner and so was very light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in April 2013. Our room was on the ground floor. The standard twin room is spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. Bathroom is also big and clean, we were impressed with nice tropical shower there. We didn't take breakfast, but we had coffee and tea amenities in the room, so we bought something for breakfast in the nearest supermarket. It took us 10-15 min by tram from the hotel to city centre. We were pretty satisfied with service and room amenities. Maybe the facade of the hotel could be renovated, it looked a bit shabby. But the price/quality level is really good especially in comparison with other hotels in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katerina1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferney Voltaire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Best Western Blue Square Hotel is a very good Hotel in a good location”.Our room was Clean, nice and warm and facing out to the back. The bed linen and towels are changed daily . The number 13 tram that we needed to get to the Centraal Station stopped 100 metres up from the hotel. we were about 30 minutes away from the city centre . The number 69 bus leaves you right at the door of the hotel and it picks you up from the platform of the airport bus terminal. A bus, tram and metro pass costs €12.00 for a 48 hour which is excellent value as we used the trams and buses quite frequently getting to and from the centre. Overall the transport system in Amsterdam is very good. For the price we got the Hotel for we were happy with it's location, services, amenities and the very friendly staff. We wil come back to Amsterdam next year and we will be booking back into the Best Western Blue Square Hotel

Room Tip: "Rooms on the backside of the hotel are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cornelis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shihotelgroup, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

thanks a lot for completing the websurvey. It is a pleasure for us to read that you have enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcome you again in the future :)

Best regards,
Best Western PLUS Hotel Blue Square
Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

It was good hotel, in overall for 3-4 stars, good room but placed far from center of Amsterdam
Good service, good restaurant...
Nobody worked after 9 pm
Can recommend buy tram ticket if you will stay in this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oxius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
#186 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#158 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#117 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is an environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The hotel takes its name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has laid down that the building may only be painted in the characteristic blue color. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free coffee/tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Schiphol Airport, the RAI Convention Center, the port and Passenger Terminal Amsterdam (cruise ships) can be reached within 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing