We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“4 days in amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Ranked #147 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“4 days in amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

the best western blue square hotel provided us with a great base to explore from, all emails were answered very quickly and the information provided very helpful. we bought the bus tram and metro pass at the airport for 21 euros which covered us for a 4 days of jumping on and off the great transport system.we got the 69 bus which stops almost right outside the hotel. the receptionists were very nice and cheery, always ready to help. we only took the breakfast on our first and last morning we pre-booked it the night before for 10 euros, the breakfast was very nice and had a wide selection of food to choose from, the only complaint we had was it was on the cold side but when asked to have heated it was zapped in the micro in no time at all.

we stayed in room 285 and it was lovely and roomy enough for all of us, plenty of space for your clothes and bags without fear of tripping over them. the beds were lovely and soft and the bathroom was great, strong shower for me and a lovely deep bath for the others with plenty of hot water, pure bliss. the one negetive we had with this hotel was the bar. the bar is meant to be open till 1 am but when we arrived there was no sign of the barman and when he did arrive we got one drink and then he started to put everything away so we took the hint and went back to our room, the next 3 nights it was closed, when we asked about this seemly if there is no one in they close early maybe we were unlucky and the hotel was quieter than normal so be warned if you want to use the bar get there before 10pm. Apart from this very minor moan we had a great stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    794
    301
    100
    78
See reviews for
290
647
82
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed with two other friends at this hotel Saturday 30th November to Monday 2nd December. we were in room 204 which was a lovely, clean, large, airy room. There was a lovely bathroom with a very powerful shower. We had dinner at the hotel the first night and although the menu was limited, the food when it came ( I had the veal ribeye steak) was beautifully prepared and served. The buffet breakfast was also very good, although the toaster could do with updating. All the staff, both in the restaurant, the bar and on reception were friendly and helpful, and would certainly go back again tho this hotel. Easy to get into city centre by either tram or bus which are frequent.

Room Tip: Ours was on the corner and so was very light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in April 2013. Our room was on the ground floor. The standard twin room is spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. Bathroom is also big and clean, we were impressed with nice tropical shower there. We didn't take breakfast, but we had coffee and tea amenities in the room, so we bought something for breakfast in the nearest supermarket. It took us 10-15 min by tram from the hotel to city centre. We were pretty satisfied with service and room amenities. Maybe the facade of the hotel could be renovated, it looked a bit shabby. But the price/quality level is really good especially in comparison with other hotels in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katerina1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferney Voltaire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Best Western Blue Square Hotel is a very good Hotel in a good location”.Our room was Clean, nice and warm and facing out to the back. The bed linen and towels are changed daily . The number 13 tram that we needed to get to the Centraal Station stopped 100 metres up from the hotel. we were about 30 minutes away from the city centre . The number 69 bus leaves you right at the door of the hotel and it picks you up from the platform of the airport bus terminal. A bus, tram and metro pass costs €12.00 for a 48 hour which is excellent value as we used the trams and buses quite frequently getting to and from the centre. Overall the transport system in Amsterdam is very good. For the price we got the Hotel for we were happy with it's location, services, amenities and the very friendly staff. We wil come back to Amsterdam next year and we will be booking back into the Best Western Blue Square Hotel

Room Tip: "Rooms on the backside of the hotel are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cornelis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shihotelgroup, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

thanks a lot for completing the websurvey. It is a pleasure for us to read that you have enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcome you again in the future :)

Best regards,
Best Western PLUS Hotel Blue Square
Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

It was good hotel, in overall for 3-4 stars, good room but placed far from center of Amsterdam
Good service, good restaurant...
Nobody worked after 9 pm
Can recommend buy tram ticket if you will stay in this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oxius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in 2009 and returned in November 2013. The hotel is good, the staff very helpful. The rooms are clean, quality furniture, TV, coffee maker, but no minibar. Breakfast is good and varied. Room windows do not open. There is a lobby bar open in the evening, but reception is open non-stop. The hotel is located quite far from the center, but is easily reached by tram 13 from central station or tram 14 from Dam square in 20 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric Andrei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here on Monday 18th November till Wednesday 20th November. We reqused a double room before we went as I knew there was several different types of rooms in the hotel. Our room was spotless, nice and warm and facing out to the main road where there was little to no noise at night time. The bed linen and towels are changed daily in the hotel which is nice to come home to every evening after a busy day of sightseeing. On departure from the hotel I handed the key cards back and asked the receptionist if I could buy take away coffees in the hotel, she asked us what types of coffee's we were looking for and walked off, came back 2 minutes later with our 2 coffee's in to-go cups and told us they were free of charge.
The number 13 tram that we needed to get to the Centraal Station stopped 100 metres up from the hotel which was good and it was a nice little walk to take each day. we were about 30 minutes away from the city centre which was no problem for us as we live about 30 minutes away from our own city centre. The number 69 bus leaves you right at the door of the hotel and it picks you up from the platform of the airport bus terminal. it costs €12.00 for a 48 hour bus, tram and metro pass which is excellent value as we used the trams and buses quite frequently getting from attraction to attraction. Overall the transport system in Amsterdam is very well put together.
Overall, for the price we got the Hotel for we were extremely happy with it's location, services, amenities and staff. We plan on coming back to Amsterdam and when we do we will be booking back into the Best Western Blue Square Hotel.

Room Tip: As there are many different types of rooms in the hotel, before you go email the hotel and request t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeiranOBeirne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
#182 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#114 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#158 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
1.2 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The building takes it's name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has undoubtedly explain that the only building in the characteristic blue color can be dyed. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free wifi internet and free coffee/ tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business, or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Sloterdijk Station is just steps away from our hotel and SchipholAirport, the RAIConvention Center, the Port and Passenger Terminal Amstedam (cruisschepen) can be reached in 30 minutes. At the BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Blue Square we strive to provide the facilities you require, with little extras to make you feel at home in a friendly and welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing