We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Weekend in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
XO Hotels Blue Square
Ranked #163 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed November 19, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Adelhide
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 2,010 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel a few days in September with friends and everything was fine.
It’s not a city centre hotel but very well communicated by tram (20 minutes).
We can not make an opinion about the breakfast due to we don’t take it. There are better options to take a good breakfast outside.
We asked in the reservation for a twin room (2 men in one room) and luckily we had it.
The reception staff is helpful and polite.
In case we come back to Amsterdam, we will choose it again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 for a long weekend 1 to 3 November. The family room was a good size but stank of cigarette smoke the shower was a weak lukewarm dribble and the tiles in the shower were so mobile I thought they would fall off the wall at any moment.

The hotel 'bar' was a dark drafty corner of the foyer and we never saw anyone use the restaurant. Breakfast was not included and we did not take up the opportunity of paying €10 per person to order it in advance (€12 on the day).

The beds were narrow and the mattress rather than having a pit in the centre had been turned over so I was constantly in danger of rolling off on to the floor.

The hotel is about a 40 minute bus ride from the airport and about 30 minutes by tram to the centre of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Okay so this hotel doesn't look so great from the outside but inside it is lovely with a nice bar and reception area that leads into a large restaurant. The entire hotel is extremely clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly. We didn't encounter too much noise either which was perfect for our final day when all we needed was sleep!

I found the location fine as we knew we would be staying about 20 minutes from the city centre, there were plenty of shops, food places and even a local market right outside the door so it was never a problem and the trams/buses ran from the end of the street into the centre and it didn't take any time at all.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, the rooms were spacious and very clean and the shower was amazing, the bed was comfortable, the only downside is there were only two maybe three English speaking TV channels and radio stations that we could listen/watch whilst getting ready. Apart from that this hotel was fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights from 27th Oct, rooms comfortable check in very quick, staff very helpful, food good not brilliant but of a very good standard and not expensive. Very easy into Amsterdam as have stayed in Amsterdam many times but came by either plane or train, this time by car. As we were travelling on Bar a bit hit and miss but never busy so staff wander off elsewhere.
Tram into Amsterdam took about 25 minutes and cost 2.8 Euro.
Having a good area to stay it made trips easier in the car straight onto A10 and out of town, so would recommend it for all.

Room Tip: Just email early for a view of canal, no bother for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennlevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

What do you do in a new city when you are a tourist. Ask the hotel guys. But what do you do when some staff in the hotel are pleasing and helpful and some are surprisingly rude and non cooperative ? Always peek around the reception whether Miss Horrible is at the Desk or not. She extracted 10 Euros as City tax for 2 nights while I was checking in and did not give me a receipt despite me asking for it. Do not know whether it was her own means of tax or whether it is a standard practice. In a city where pickpockets are always lurking around... I would not be surprised if this was a legalized way of robbing. What I did not understand was the fact that... you take taxes and do not give receipts. Strange !!

Hotel was clean, but a bit away from the city center. IMO, there are many other hotels near the Dam Square which are small and not listed on Expedia. This could have been worthwhile to explore too. The tram station was also closeby. Tram No 14 takes you very close to the hotel (200 metres). Bought a 48 hour ticket for 14 euros and this was okay to see me through 2 days. Breakfast is good and you should book it the previous night to get a 2.5 euro discount on that as it is not included in the room rates.

Getting back late at night could be a challenge. Look out for bus 21, trams 7 and 14.

Room Tip: Take Rooms on the higher floor as the hotel is bang on the road. Early morning there is quite some d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed two nights as we were running the Amsterdam half marathon. The location was convenient for parking the car and avoiding driving in the city center and also near the metro to the olympic stadium. For being tourist in Amsterdam city center, the location is not good, as it takes half an hour by tram to get there. The blue colour of the building looks a bit strange in this suburb with anonymous houses around. Inside the hotel was normal and average for a modern hotel. The bathroom was big and new with a very good shower. It was a bit annoying that we could not open the windows in the room. The nights were quiet. The internet worked well. For breakfast price and quality did not match

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ester G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.1 mi away
XO Hotels Blue Tower
XO Hotels Blue Tower
#181 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,870 reviews
2.1 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#109 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#124 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,333 reviews
1.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
1.2 mi away
XO Hotels Park West
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XO Hotels Blue Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XO Hotels Blue Square

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Blue Square Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $66 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — XO Hotels Blue Square 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XO HOTELS BLUE SQUARE takes its name from the striking building in which it is located. All, in 2017 renovated, hotel rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free Nespresso coffee/tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Schiphol Airport, the RAI Convention Center, the port and Passenger Terminal Amsterdam (cruise ships) can be reached within 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your XO Hotels Blue Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing