We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
XO Hotels Blue Square
Nearby Hotels
$350
$215
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$245
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$292
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$318
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$68
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$264
$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $234/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$414
$384
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Toren(Amsterdam)
$318
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $281/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$562
$316
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,104)
Filter reviews
2,104 results
Traveler rating
459
961
431
146
107
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
961
431
146
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrecontiki tournumber busmin tram ridetrams and busesnice hotelpublic transportnight bustravel cardbuffet breakfastresidential areanice staytwo single bedswould stay againclose to the hotelshort breakcentral station
Filter
Updating list...
951 - 956 of 2,104 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2013

What do you do in a new city when you are a tourist. Ask the hotel guys. But what do you do when some staff in the hotel are pleasing and helpful and some are surprisingly rude and non cooperative ? Always peek around the reception whether Miss Horrible is at the Desk or not. She extracted 10 Euros as City tax for 2 nights while I was checking in and did not give me a receipt despite me asking for it. Do not know whether it was her own means of tax or whether it is a standard practice. In a city where pickpockets are always lurking around... I would not be surprised if this was a legalized way of robbing. What I did not understand was the fact that... you take taxes and do not give receipts. Strange !!

Hotel was clean, but a bit away from the city center. IMO, there are many other hotels near the Dam Square which are small and not listed on Expedia. This could have been worthwhile to explore too. The tram station was also closeby. Tram No 14 takes you very close to the hotel (200 metres). Bought a 48 hour ticket for 14 euros and this was okay to see me through 2 days. Breakfast is good and you should book it the previous night to get a 2.5 euro discount on that as it is not included in the room rates.

Getting back late at night could be a challenge. Look out for bus 21, trams 7 and 14.

Room Tip: Take Rooms on the higher floor as the hotel is bang on the road. Early morning there is quite some disturbance if you are on the first floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed two nights as we were running the Amsterdam half marathon. The location was convenient for parking the car and avoiding driving in the city center and also near the metro to the olympic stadium. For being tourist in Amsterdam city center, the location is not good, as it takes half an hour by tram to get there. The blue colour of the building looks a bit strange in this suburb with anonymous houses around. Inside the hotel was normal and average for a modern hotel. The bathroom was big and new with a very good shower. It was a bit annoying that we could not open the windows in the room. The nights were quiet. The internet worked well. For breakfast price and quality did not match

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ester G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

43rd Wedding Anniversary trip. Great location for a four-day city break. Not too near the centre, but quiet after hectic days sightseeing. Catch a 69 bus from the airport and it will drop you off at the hotel on its way to its destination. Take a 15 bus for the 20 mins ride to Dam Square to explore the city. Welcoming, friendly staff and easy check-in. Room on the first floor at the back of the hotel was quiet and comfortable. Bathroom was a bit tight with a shower close to bathroom door. Rainfall hower head needed a good clean since water came out diagonally out of each hole,such that, if the shower door was opened, water sprayed over the tiled floor and, possibly onto the carpet outside the bathroom door. Bad design of shower door opening didn't help. Good choice at breakfast. Problem with wi-fi in room, couldn't connect although no problem in Reception. Manger accepted there was a problem in our area of the hotel and provided complimentary drinks whenever we had to come down to use the internet. Good PR! Small shopping mall 5 mins away with supermarket, pharmacy and wine shop there. Plenty of small restaurnats nearby but we ate our evening meal in the ciry before coming 'home'. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here as 2 separate couples for 5 nights coming into winter and it was brilliant. The rooms were clean and a good size, so we could both have our suitcases open at the same time.

The staff were friendly enough and the buffet breakfast had a really good range of food and drink. There's wasn't any Gluten Free bread, but I brought my own and was advised that the sliced meats and cheeses were fine. They also had eggs beans bacon, cereals etc. one of the better freshly stocked breakfasts we'd seen.

The location was a good half hour tram from the hotel, but there's a stop right near it, so it wasn't too bad, just a bit annoying - but for the price and quality of the rooms, it would probably be harder to get closer to the CBD.

There's no fridge in the room, but they could hold stuff in the fridge behind reception.

The thing that made me not rate this 5 stars was the smell of our room. At first we thought it was coming form the toilet - so I blamed my partner and visa versa, but we soon found out it was coming from the waste in the shower. It smelt horrible, we had to keep the bathroom door shut, and if you wanted to spend a bit of time on the toilet or at the basin, you could only do this after the shower had been run for a while. Having said that, the other couple who were staying down the other end of the corridor said they had no problem, so perhaps it's only a few rooms.

Shower pressure good and relatively consistent, and they provided shampoo AND conditioner. A rarity in the less expensive hotels these days.

They also have a fruit bowl downstairs for your travels 24/7- we scammed a lot of apples, which helped us on the longer days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdzynR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was staying here during mid September 2013, while attending the IBC conference at the RAI conference center.
Although it is situated quite a distance away from the city center, the pram passes right outside the front door, so getting around Amsterdam is easy, the traveltime form RAI is about 20-25 minutes.
The hotel itself offers nice rooms at typical Best Western quality and price, there is a nice resturant which offers Breakfast and dinner.
All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Henrik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews