We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel good location but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square
Ranked #161 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel good location but”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The situation is good, on tram and bus routes, quiet area rooms very good. The breakfast however was very bad. All the hot food was cold, the cold meats and cheese looked like they had been put out the night before. We have just returned from a 2 night trip, and today we went out for breakfast to a lovely cafe, very fresh tasty food, how difficukt is it?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taurus1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    894
    387
    127
    98
See reviews for
342
774
92
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because other places were full. Hotel is an older property located away from the city in a residential neighborhood. Best part of the room was the shower! Excellent hot shower! Owners worked on the property and talked to customers during breakfast, which was also decent. There are several trams that stop a block away and can take you to Central area in about 20 minutes. Out sttay was OK nothing extraordinary, but good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nishendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzelia Israel
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

we were surprised how far the hotel is from city center, do not beleive what is written - it takes 20-30 minutes each direction !!
the location is in a neigbourhood of imigrants and the facilities are basic.
the room looked old but huge :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

It may seem slightly off putting on the outside, however very nice, clean and modern on the inside. Very friendly reception staff, with very good English! Quiet bedroom, no noise during the evenings. Room located over the river with a nice view. Free wifi available to all hotel customers (able to pick up in bedrooms too). Great access to the city centre and the airport. Trams 7 and 14 and bus 21 go to the city centre, with bus number 69 going to the airport, all arriving every 10 minutes up until around midnight. Good to buy a GVB ticket for the length you are staying as works out cheaper (e.g 72 hour pass = 16 euro) and a single ticket is 2.80 euro.
Great place to stay!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 161, good view, nice and quiet, can pick up wifi, double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ESteele02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The front desk staff (most of them) really need to learn the meaning of "courtesy" and what it means in the hospitality industry. I was told, very rudely, that I was being difficult because I insisted that I would like to clear all my payments and complete all the paper-work for check-out at 11:30pm, since I had an early flight to catch the next morning.

We were booked into this place because our hotel of choice during the IBC was full. We had had a similar bad experience the last time as well - but unfortunately forgot to tell our office to avoid booking us here another time... so, here we were again. The last time we stayed here we were told that our room was "not yet ready" at 9:20am in spite of having paid an extra day's rent in order to have our room available on arrival. Then, after much arguing, we were reluctantly given rooms - but they were not cleaned!

The breakfast buffet is BAD and badly arranged, so that you often have to wait in a queue for 5 minutes to just get a plate! only advantage is that it is close to a Tram stop!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Although the hotel does not seem friendly on the outside, inside it is all ok. The rooms are clean, breakfast was ok and staff friendly and helpful. Back with pleasure at this hotel in Amsterdam.The lady called and negotiated with the taxi driver for a better price

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VirgilS007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here in Sept 2013 for one night. We booked this hotel since all other hotels in Dam Square/city centre were already booked. However, we didn't regret it at all. The hotel is not close to the main attractions but still convenient. From central station, you need to take bus 21 to reach this hotel, around 20 minutes in the bus. There are frequent buses that run at least till midnight. The location is safe, the rooms are quite large, clean and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmbikaRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Blue Tower Hotel
Best Western Blue Tower Hotel
#183 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,795 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#110 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#75 of 367 in Amsterdam
755 reviews
1.5 mi away
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#165 of 367 in Amsterdam
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square
Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Blue Square Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is an environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The hotel takes its name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has laid down that the building may only be painted in the characteristic blue color. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free coffee/tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Schiphol Airport, the RAI Convention Center, the port and Passenger Terminal Amsterdam (cruise ships) can be reached within 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing