We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
XO Hotels Blue Square
Ranked #162 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely hotel nice and quiet staff very good Food very nice but thought it was a bit limited in the evening. 15 mins to centre on tram 14 with lots to do and see lovely places to eat.Very enjoyable stay weather was very col with some snow

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davebill1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

999 - 1,005 of 2,019 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

double room with breakfast only 51 euros. room serviced every day. Free wifi and air conditioning. toiletries replaced each day as was tea/coffee. Safe in the room also free. Lots of trams/buses to the city centre, great way to see the town. Friendly staff and maps etc on arrival. Breakfast is buffet style, continental and cooked. something for everyone. If people are givng poor reviews for this hotel they are not justified. book with confidence. The 72 hour tram card is only 16 euros for unlimited travel. Special note for reception staff, as we waited for our taxi the girl came over and offered us tea and coffee free of charge, after we had booked out!

Room Tip: family rooms are bigger, same price. Or ask for a view of the canal, the street view is bland
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Pros:
- Great hotel.
- Very kind service. Friendly staff.
- 15/25 mins from the center. Two trams and 1 bus will take you there.
- Maps and information are given at arrival.
- Great shower and bathroom. Nice Plasma TV.
- Free WiFi.
- Two computers at reception with internet for free.
- Bus nº 69 takes you directly from the airport to the hotel (30 mins).
- Reception lets you borrow umbrellas and adapters with a small deposit.
- Ask for views on the canal.

Cons:
- Small wardrobe (for ladies...)
- Bed a bit too soft for my taste.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmijuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A wonderful experience of Amsterdam, only 15 minutes away by tram to Dam square, the main shopping place. The hotel was lovely, the only disappointment was the restaurant as the food selection was not large, but there was a few restaurants outside the hotel to try. The room was fantastic and the staff was great and so friendly and helpful. The coffee facilities was good to have as well. The only thing was the men moaning lol, but thats men for you I suppose, but they were good to have there as well. The whole family had a good holiday together which made it even better. I liked Amsterdam as there was alot to see, a bit expensive but a lovely sceneitif place to go... Lots of adventures to do and places to visit and loads of shops which always makes it good as well. Hope this helps people, and they visit Amsterdam as well to have a lovely time.

Room Tip: If you want a good room for the family, the family rooms are good. But separate the kids if they lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to a very friendly welcome and given lots of maps and information for our first trip to amsterdam. Room was clean and comfy for our needs. Good walk in shower with good power. Good luggage holding service after we checked out so we could go into town before our late flight. Hotel is out of the main areas but found that on a budget the 3 day 16? travel pass from the airport tourist info centre was excellent for the 69 bus to the hotel and 14 & 7 trams to the centre, which were no more than every 10 mins. Great hotel for a budget trip.

2  Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Brilliant hotel and excellent customer service. Beautiful rooms and lovely soft pillows and high quality beds. Monsoon shower (wonderful!) and plasma TV. The food was excellent - had the lasagna - absolutely delicious. Really this is one of the best hotels I've stayed at for £50.00 for the night. You really do get value for money here.
What I found helpful was that there is internet available for people to use (two computers at reception) which is really handy.

I stayed two nights for a little explore and shopping of Amsterdam. The tram number 14 takes you right into the Centre (Dam Square).

What is brilliant is that the hotel is on a direct bus route from Schipol Airport (Bus number 69 - quite fitting lol) and is only 30 minutes away.

This is a great hotel for people who can't afford the Hilton but want a quality hotel with a good quality night's sleep. Don't expect the Ritz but would say as a UK equivalent hotel this would be on par with a City Marriott. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbunny1984_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Last 2 weeks I spend in 2 Best Western hotels in Amsterdam: Blue Square and Apollo Museum.
I'm really astonished how come those 2 hotels which basically cost the same can be rated even close to each other on trip advisor.
I'll put here a short comparison of those 2 hotels.

Exterior:
- Blue Square - this is the biggest problem of this hotel. It looks from outside as a cheap hostel, definitely not as Best Western Plus
- Apollo - nice, old building enlighten in the evening as a tourist attraction

Interior:
- Blue Square - little better than outside but the image of hostel is still present, way too much plastic used
- Apollo - looks just good, not too fancy, not to ascetic.

Room:
- Blue Square - the room is bigger than in Apollo but it looks old (not in good way) and cheap, the bathroom wasn't exactly clean (it was not dirty but it needs some cleaning which you don't do every day - f.e. fugues). I don't know who designed the layout in bathroom but to take toilet paper when you seat on the toilet requires acrobatic skills.
- Apollo - the room is quite small (at least the one I got) but what you can expect from old building. The room design is really nice - you can feel Scandinavian touch in the design here. Bathroom also looks much better than the one at Blue Square. It's equipped with thermostatic shower mixer. The only pain point here is water leaking on the floor from the shower (it wasn't broken it's just made this way).

Entertainment:
- Blue Square - really good internet connection and not-bad TV
- Apollo - the internet was sometimes very slow (you need to pay 8EUR extra per day if you want faster internet), more TV channels than in Blue Square (f.e. Discover or ComedyCentral - both in Dutch version but 99% of the time it's still in English with just Dutch subtitles)

Parking:
- Blue Square - own underground parking for 15 EUR a day
- Apollo - no own parking, you can on the street right outside of the hotel (no problems to find parking places) or in underground parking 300m away. Both will cost you more than 15 EUR for sure (4EUR/h 9-24 during week).

Price:
both hotels costs ~60EUR per night with breakfast paid separately (~10EUR).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcelir00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.1 mi away
XO Hotels Blue Tower
XO Hotels Blue Tower
#179 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,881 reviews
2.1 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,957 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#112 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#124 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,359 reviews
1.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
1.2 mi away
XO Hotels Park West
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XO Hotels Blue Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XO Hotels Blue Square

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Blue Square Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $62 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — XO Hotels Blue Square 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XO HOTELS BLUE SQUARE takes its name from the striking building in which it is located. All, in 2017 renovated, hotel rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free Nespresso coffee/tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Schiphol Airport, the RAI Convention Center, the port and Passenger Terminal Amsterdam (cruise ships) can be reached within 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your XO Hotels Blue Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing