We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square
Ranked #164 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel !”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Pros:
- Great hotel.
- Very kind service. Friendly staff.
- 15/25 mins from the center. Two trams and 1 bus will take you there.
- Maps and information are given at arrival.
- Great shower and bathroom. Nice Plasma TV.
- Free WiFi.
- Two computers at reception with internet for free.
- Bus nº 69 takes you directly from the airport to the hotel (30 mins).
- Reception lets you borrow umbrellas and adapters with a small deposit.
- Ask for views on the canal.

Cons:
- Small wardrobe (for ladies...)
- Bed a bit too soft for my taste.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmijuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    890
    386
    126
    98
See reviews for
341
768
92
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A wonderful experience of Amsterdam, only 15 minutes away by tram to Dam square, the main shopping place. The hotel was lovely, the only disappointment was the restaurant as the food selection was not large, but there was a few restaurants outside the hotel to try. The room was fantastic and the staff was great and so friendly and helpful. The coffee facilities was good to have as well. The only thing was the men moaning lol, but thats men for you I suppose, but they were good to have there as well. The whole family had a good holiday together which made it even better. I liked Amsterdam as there was alot to see, a bit expensive but a lovely sceneitif place to go... Lots of adventures to do and places to visit and loads of shops which always makes it good as well. Hope this helps people, and they visit Amsterdam as well to have a lovely time.

Room Tip: If you want a good room for the family, the family rooms are good. But separate the kids if they lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to a very friendly welcome and given lots of maps and information for our first trip to amsterdam. Room was clean and comfy for our needs. Good walk in shower with good power. Good luggage holding service after we checked out so we could go into town before our late flight. Hotel is out of the main areas but found that on a budget the 3 day 16? travel pass from the airport tourist info centre was excellent for the 69 bus to the hotel and 14 & 7 trams to the centre, which were no more than every 10 mins. Great hotel for a budget trip.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Brilliant hotel and excellent customer service. Beautiful rooms and lovely soft pillows and high quality beds. Monsoon shower (wonderful!) and plasma TV. The food was excellent - had the lasagna - absolutely delicious. Really this is one of the best hotels I've stayed at for £50.00 for the night. You really do get value for money here.
What I found helpful was that there is internet available for people to use (two computers at reception) which is really handy.

I stayed two nights for a little explore and shopping of Amsterdam. The tram number 14 takes you right into the Centre (Dam Square).

What is brilliant is that the hotel is on a direct bus route from Schipol Airport (Bus number 69 - quite fitting lol) and is only 30 minutes away.

This is a great hotel for people who can't afford the Hilton but want a quality hotel with a good quality night's sleep. Don't expect the Ritz but would say as a UK equivalent hotel this would be on par with a City Marriott. Fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbunny1984_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledziny, Poland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Last 2 weeks I spend in 2 Best Western hotels in Amsterdam: Blue Square and Apollo Museum.
I'm really astonished how come those 2 hotels which basically cost the same can be rated even close to each other on trip advisor.
I'll put here a short comparison of those 2 hotels.

Exterior:
- Blue Square - this is the biggest problem of this hotel. It looks from outside as a cheap hostel, definitely not as Best Western Plus
- Apollo - nice, old building enlighten in the evening as a tourist attraction

Interior:
- Blue Square - little better than outside but the image of hostel is still present, way too much plastic used
- Apollo - looks just good, not too fancy, not to ascetic.

Room:
- Blue Square - the room is bigger than in Apollo but it looks old (not in good way) and cheap, the bathroom wasn't exactly clean (it was not dirty but it needs some cleaning which you don't do every day - f.e. fugues). I don't know who designed the layout in bathroom but to take toilet paper when you seat on the toilet requires acrobatic skills.
- Apollo - the room is quite small (at least the one I got) but what you can expect from old building. The room design is really nice - you can feel Scandinavian touch in the design here. Bathroom also looks much better than the one at Blue Square. It's equipped with thermostatic shower mixer. The only pain point here is water leaking on the floor from the shower (it wasn't broken it's just made this way).

Entertainment:
- Blue Square - really good internet connection and not-bad TV
- Apollo - the internet was sometimes very slow (you need to pay 8EUR extra per day if you want faster internet), more TV channels than in Blue Square (f.e. Discover or ComedyCentral - both in Dutch version but 99% of the time it's still in English with just Dutch subtitles)

Parking:
- Blue Square - own underground parking for 15 EUR a day
- Apollo - no own parking, you can on the street right outside of the hotel (no problems to find parking places) or in underground parking 300m away. Both will cost you more than 15 EUR for sure (4EUR/h 9-24 during week).

Price:
both hotels costs ~60EUR per night with breakfast paid separately (~10EUR).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcelir00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Blue Tower Hotel
Best Western Blue Tower Hotel
#182 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#115 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#165 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.2 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square
Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Blue Square Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is an environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The hotel takes its name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has laid down that the building may only be painted in the characteristic blue color. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free coffee/tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Schiphol Airport, the RAI Convention Center, the port and Passenger Terminal Amsterdam (cruise ships) can be reached within 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing