We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
XO Hotels Blue Square
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
HOTEL2STAY(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,075)
Filter reviews
2,075 results
Traveler rating
449
954
422
144
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
954
422
144
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrecontiki tournumber busmin tram ridetrams and busesnice hotelpublic transporttravel cardbuffet breakfastresidential areanice staytwo single bedswould stay againclose to the hotelbooked this hotelshort breakcentral station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,088 - 1,093 of 2,075 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you are planning to visit Amsterdam, pls do yourself a favour, stay anywhere but the Best Western Blue Square. Its a very rund down property far from the city with absolutely no clue about cleanliness,courtesy or hospitality. Its more like a hostel.

Room Tip: For all travellers, pls check with the hotel if there is any renovations going on in the hotel. This can be extremely disturbing and inconvenient. They never show "under renovations"on their websites.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pramod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Value hotels are hard to find in Amsterdam, but I was pleased with Blue Square considering the price we paid.

The in room wifi is free and provided decent speed and signal, the room and bathroom was cleaned to a good standard (if you don’t want to be disturbed they’ll leave fresh towels by your door), and the staff helpful and knowledgeable about the city.

If not included in your rate, breakfast is €12.50 and provided a good selection of cooked and continental choices. If you pre ordered breakfast the rate was reduced to €10. One morning we didn’t feel like getting up for breakfast, and the front desk staff were happy to allow us to use the pre ordered breakfast the next day instead.

As others have said, the hotel is well connected (Trams 7,13 and 14, Bus 21 and nightbus 352 to the centre and Bus 69 to the airport), or it’s under €50 in a taxi from the airport.

Unfortunately, it’s also in an outer, predominantly Turkish/Moroccan neighbourhood, so getting to the inner areas will take about 30 minutes in peak time on a tram, which can be inconvenient.

The area itself wasn't fancy, but we didn't feel unsafe. There were a few middle eastern restaurants, including “Meram” which was busy, but doesn’t serve alcohol, and “Toet-Anchamon” which seemed popular for people wanting takeaway kebabs after midnight. There’s also a “Febo” for chips, burgers and dutch snacks, as well as a couple of Turkish bakeries and two locals bars, “Bar Content” and “Plein 40-45”

There was even a “coffeeshop” called “Juicebar De Watersnip” (just off the main street) if you want something to smoke without having to go into Jordaan or central Amsterdam.

For supermarkets (which all shut by 8pm) there is a shopping centre next to the hotel which has an Albert Heijn supermarket, and there’s also an Aldi and Turkish supermarket, as well as a few convenience stores.

Overall, if you don’t mind the continual tram travel to get around, I’d recommend the Blue Square.

Room Tip: On the first floor, double rooms were much larger than the twin rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CallumLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hi all,
My partner and i stayed at the best western blue square hotel from oct 1st through to the 5th and had a nice time, we booked our holiday with easyjet.com.
Easyjet got us to our destination and back but just beware of the new baggage regulations, your hand baggage has to be 56 x 45 x 25cm incl wheels and fit into the easyjet gauge otherwise you will be charged upto 50 euros for extra baggage, to combat this i advise you to pay for 1 suitcase for the hold which is 20£ when you book online, then you can both take hand luggage on the plane but make sure to only pack what you need, bags which bulge to much dont fit the gauge and you may not get charged on the way to your destination but they make everyone use the gauge when you return, so avoid the bulge.
When you arrive at the airport you have differant ways you can get to the hotel, if you want to catch a bus from the airport catch bus 69 and get off at plein '40-45' and your hotel is about 2 mins walk from this stop, alternativly you can go to amsterdam central station by train which is quite handy if you get an early flight as central station has lots of lockers for you to store your case so you can enjoy your day until you are able to check into your hotel, if you walk straight out the front of central station and turn left and walk for about 250 yds you will find the GVB ticket office, once inside you can either buy your ticket from the machine on the wall or alternativly get a ticket from the machine and wait in line for someone to serve you, we got 72 hr tickets which cost 16€ each.
We then caught a bus 21 from outside central station and again you need to get off the bus at plein '40-45' for the hotel.
If you want to catch trams to the hotel you wont find a tram that will take you there from central station as the only trams that go near the hotel are trams 7 & 14, so now the only other way would be

taxi and unless you have lots of spare cash avoid this method, quick and easy but can be costly.
Once we arrived at the hotel we had a nice welcome was given our room on the first floor room 131, the room wasnt bad nice and clean and the bed nice and soft the only gripe from me about this hotel is the distance from central amsterdam but a 15 to 20 min tram ride is all it takes and the positive side to this is you get to see the differant cultures of amsterdam on your way to the centre, we had b&b but i didnt eat breakfast at the hotel was never up and about till after 10 so we ate out.
Getting around from the hotel is easy the hotel will actually give you a guide to help but we normally caught the 7 tram to the leidsplein had some breakfast at the sportsbar next to the bulldog hotel then caught either tram 1,2 or 5 into the centre from leidsplein and to get back we reversed the route 1,2 or 5 to leidsplein them tram 7 back to hotel or you can catch tram 14 which takes you directly to the dam square from the hotel, i will just mention that tram 14 was a little tricky getting back as the repair works to tram lines was altering the routes abit.
After reading alot of other reviews about where the hotel is situated i would not worry about the area it was no differant to any other area in amsterdam, the locals are nice, we went to the the local market which is on most days and its a nice area so dont let that put you off.
Would we stay here again? Yes but would opt for hotel closer to centre next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Square Hotel, choosing it by cost and Tripadvisor views. We had room 045 on the ground floor, facing the back of the hotel. Large room, clean with tea/coffee facilities. We had twin beds pushed together which wasn't too much of a problem for us so be sure to ask for double room when you book if you want a double bed. Breakfast was adequate with good choice of hot and cold food - the croissants were particularly nice although you had to grab one quick! There was a fruit bowl but the fruit next to the yoghurt was tinned so not that appetising first thing in the morning. As advised by the hotel staff, we took the No. 69 bus from the Airport - just go outside the main entrance into the Plaza and you will see where the buses are. There is information boards that show you which stop to go to, to get the bus you want. For the 69, it was B15 (although not sure if this changes). The journey takes approx. 35 minutes when it is busy. Beforehand we bought a 72hour buys/tram pass which was 16 euros each from Airport Information and used the pass straight away. Get off at the stop in Slotermeer - we missed this stop but as you then pass the hotel which you can't miss and which is on your right hand side after the Slotermeer bus stop, we got off at the next stop in Plein 40-45. The hotel is about 300 metres from there. The hotel will give you a map of the centre of Amsterdam and the buses/trams you can take, when you check in. We had a couple of minor niggles which were sorted out when brought to staff's attention (lightbulb gone in bathroom, no bath towels 2nd day). All in all, I would recommend this hotel which was good value for money and would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 45 on the ground floor is large and at the back of the hotel so very little noise. There are building works on a building opposite hotel so this might cause some noise early morning if you have a room there.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleHoglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews